Skip to main content

Van Riemsdyk returns to Flyers lineup for Game 5

by Dan Rosen /
PITTSBURGH -- Flyers forward James van Riemsdyk will play in Game 5 Friday against the Penguins. Zac Rinaldo is a healthy scratch.

Van Riemsdyk hasn't played since breaking his left foot on March 1 when he blocked a shot by Islanders defenseman Milan Jurcina. He has been practicing with the team and was considered a game-time decision; he will make his 2012 playoff debut and start on a line with Matt Read and Jakub Voracek.

The Flyers can close out the series with a win Friday at Consol Energy Center, where they are 7-1-0 since the building opened.

Van Riemsdyk had 24 points in 43 regular-season games. He has missed the last 23 games, including 19 in the regular season and the first four of this series.

The Penguins will have James Neal and Craig Adams back in the lineup after both sat out Game 4 while serving their one-game suspensions.

Pittsburgh will again use seven defensemen, as it did in Game 4. Simon Despres and Brian Strait remain in the lineup with Brooks Orpik, Kris Letang, Zbynek Michalek, Matt Niskanen and Deryk Engelland. Ben Lovejoy is the healthy scratch among the Penguins' blueliners.

Richard Park and Joe Vitale, both of whom played in Game 4, will not play in Game 5. Paul Martin won't play for the second straight game due to an undisclosed injury.

Ilya Bryzgalov will start in the Flyers net after giving up five goals on 18 shots before getting pulled 3:07 into the second period Wednesday. Marc-Andre Fleury will start in the Penguins net.

Here are the lines and defense pairs per pregame warmups:


Scott Hartnell - Claude Giroux - Jaromir Jagr
Brayden Schenn - Danny Briere - Wayne Simmonds
James van Riemsdyk - Matt Read - Jakub Voracek
Maxime Talbot - Sean Couturier - Eric Wellwood

Kimmo Timonen - Braydon Coburn
Matt Carle - Erik Gustafsson
Andreas Lilja - Pavel Kubina

Ilya Bryzgalov
Sergei Bobrovsky


Chris Kunitz - Evgeni Malkin - James Neal
Steve Sullivan - Sidney Crosby - Pascal Dupuis
Matt Cooke - Jordan Staal - Tyler Kennedy
Eric-Tangradi - Craig Adams

Brooks Orpik - Kris Letang
Matt Niskanen - Zbynek Michalek
Brian Strait - Deryk Engelland
Simon Despres

Marc-Andre Fleury
Brent Johnson

Follow Dan Rosen on Twitter at: @drosennhl
View More