Skip to Main Content

Sakic, Costello named to Canada Sports Hall of Fame @NHLdotcom

Hall-of-Fame player Joe Sakic and former Hockey Canada president Murray Costello are among 11 new inductees into the Canada Sports Hall of Fame.

The 11 inductees, made up of nine athletes and two builders, cover a broad range of sports and will be enshrined in a special ceremony in Toronto on Oct. 16. The induction celebration is co-chaired by former Quebec Nordiques CEO and current Canadian Olympic Committee president Marcel Aubut, who should enjoy a nice reunion with Sakic.

A star for 20 NHL seasons, Sakic was drafted by Aubut's Nordiques in the 1987 NHL Draft, eventually collecting 1,641 points in a career that also saw the longtime team captain capture two Stanley Cup wins, an Olympic gold medal (2002), a world championship (1994), a World Cup (2004) and a world junior championship (1988). He retired in 2009 and currently ranks ninth all-time in NHL scoring.

Costello was one of hockey's most powerful men for three decades, serving for almost 20 years as president of the Canadian Amateur Hockey Association, which is now simply known as Hockey Canada. Costello became a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee in 1981 and later served as vice president of the International Ice Hockey Federation. He was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2005.

Other new inductees into the Canada Sports Hall of Fame include curler Russ Howard, cyclist Alison Sydor and Paralympian Andre Viger. Last year's ceremony saw the induction of another hockey legend from British Columbia, longtime New Jersey Devil and Anaheim Duck Scott Niedermeyer.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.