Skip to Main Content

Saginaw's Telegin out of Top Prospects Game

by Adam Kimelman
Saginaw Spirit center Ivan Telegin, the leading goal-scorer among first-year Ontario Hockey League players, will miss next week's CHL/NHL Top Prospects Game due to injury.
Telegin, No. 26 among North American skaters in NHL Central Scouting's midterm rankings, has 18 goals, and he's third with 31 points.
Saskatoon Blades left wing Curtis Hamilton, No. 56 on Central Scouting's list, also will miss the game due to a collarbone injury. In 25 games, he has 7 goals, 16 points and a plus-8 rating.
Replacing them will be forwards Devante Smith-Pelly of the Mississauga St. Michael's Majors and the Portland Winterhawks' Bradley Ross.
Smith-Pelly, a 5-foot-11 1/2, 210-pound right wing, has a team-leading 22 goals. He's second on the team with 40 points and has a plus-20 rating. He's ranked No. 67 by Central Scouting.
Ross, a 5-11 1/4, 181-pound left wing, is tied for his team's lead with 49 points, and his 22 goals are second. He's No. 69 on Central Scouting's list.
The Top Prospects Game will be held Jan. 19-20 at the WFCU Centre in Windsor, Ont., featuring a skills contest a game featuring the 40 best players available for the 2010 Entry Draft in the three leagues that make up the Canadian Hockey League. Hockey legend Bobby Orr and Hockey Night in Canada personality Don Cherry will coach the two teams.
The rosters for the game are assembled by Central Scouting following a poll sent to all 30 NHL clubs on which prospects they would like to see.
Contact Adam Kimelman at



FORWARDS -- Louis-Marc Aubry, Montreal Juniors (QMJHL); Jakub Culek, Rimouski (QMJHL); Emerson Etem, Medicine Hat (WHL); Stanislav Galiev, Saint John (QMJHL), Taylor Hall, Windsor (OHL); Ryan Johansen, Portland (WHL); Devante Smith-Pelly, St. Mississauga Michael's (OHL); Ryan Spooner, Peterborough (OHL); Bradley Ross, Portland (WHL); Austin Watson, Peterborough (OHL), Jordan Weal, Regina (WHL), Andrew Yogan, Erie (OHL).
DEFENSEMEN -- Brandon Archibald, Sault Ste. Marie (OHL), Brock Beukeboom, Sault Ste. Marie (OHL); Cam Fowler, Windsor (OHL); Austin Madaisky, Kamloops (WHL); Alexander Petrovic, Red Deer (WHL); Troy Rutkowski, Portland (WHL).
GOALTENDERS -- Maxime Clermont, Gatineau (QMJHL); Calvin Pickard, Seattle (WHL).

FORWARDS -- Alexander Burmistrov, Barrie (OHL); Michael Bournival, Shawinigan (QMJHL); Joey Hishon, Owen Sound (OHL); Quinton Howden, Moose Jaw (WHL); Ryan Martindale, Ottawa (OHL); John McFarland, Sudbury (OHL); Nino Niederreiter, Portland (WHL); Tyler Seguin, Plymouth (OHL); Steven Shipley, Owen Sound Attack (OHL); Jeff Skinner, Kitchener (OHL); Petr Straka, Rimouski (QMJHL); Tyler Toffoli, Ottawa (OHL).
DEFENSEMEN -- Jerome Gauthier-Leduc, Rouyn Noranda (QMJHL); Brandon Gormley, Moncton (QMJHL); Matt MacKenzie, Calgary (WHL); Dylan McIlrath, Moose Jaw (WHL); Mark Pysyk, Edmonton (WHL); Stephen Silas, Belleville (OHL).
GOALTENDERS -- Louis Domingue, Moncton (QMJHL); Mark Visentin, Niagara (OHL).

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.