Skip to main content

Sadek, Jaremko, Borgen among Mr. Hockey nominees

by Mike G. Morreale

Lakeville North defenseman Jack Sadek, No. 83 on NHL Central Scouting's midterm list of the top North American skaters eligible for the 2015 NHL Draft, has been named one of the 10 candidates for Minnesota's prestigious Mr. Hockey Award.

The Mr. Hockey Award, chosen by NHL scouts, junior-hockey scouts and coaches, and select media members from around Minnesota, is given to the outstanding senior high school boys' hockey player in the state each season. Three other awards will be presented at a banquet that is set for March 8 at the Grand Ballroom at RiverCentre in St. Paul, Minn.

Sadek (6-foot-1, 185 pounds) is Central Scouting's highest-rated Minnesota scholastic hockey player. The University of Minnesota recruit has four goals and 24 points in 23 games for Lakeville North (23-0-0) this season. He has a point in 15 of Lakeville North's 23 games.

"Jack is a two-way defender who skates well in all directions," Central Scouting's Greg Rajanen told "He handles the puck well and runs the power play from the top with good passing ability, quick release from the point and overall good decisions.

"He's a bit of a late bloomer but overall a solid prospect."

There are two other players among the 10 nominees who are listed on Central Scouting's midterm report: Elk River senior center Jacob Jaremko (5-11, 170) and Moorhead senior defenseman William Borgen (6-2, 189).

Jaremko, No. 107 on Central Scouting's midterm list, leads Elk River (19-4-1) with 62 points (21 goals, 41 assists) in 24 games. He is committed to Minnesota State University.

"Jacob's game is speed and quickness," Rajanen said. "He's got a very good burst out of the blocks and shows a second gear off the rush. He's more of a passer than shooter but he can finish."

Borgen, No. 194 on Central Scouting's midterm list, has five goals and 24 points in 22 games for Moorhead (14-7-2). He will attend St. Cloud State University.

"Will is a solid two-way defender," Rajanen said. "He shows a good first pass and has some bite to his game. He's a good skater in all directions."

Five of the last eight Mr. Hockey Award winners went onto become first-round NHL draft picks, among them the Florida Panthers' Nick Bjugstad (2010), the New York Islanders' Nick Leddy (2009); Ryan McDonagh of the New York Rangers (2007). Also, 2006 winner David Fischer was a first-round pick of the Montreal Canadiens and 2005 winner Brian Lee was a first-round pick of the Ottawa Senators.

Minnesota Wild prospect Avery Peterson of Grand Rapids High School won the 2014 Mr. Hockey Award. Peterson, a 2013 sixth-round pick (No. 167) of the Wild, is playing for the University of Nebraska-Omaha this season. The 6-foot-2, 201-pound left-handed center has 10 goals and 19 points in 26 games.

The Minnesota State High School League boys' hockey tournament will be held March 4-7 at Xcel Energy Center and Mariucci Arena in Minneapolis. The Minnesota Wild sponsor the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet and the Mr. Hockey Award is hosted, coordinated, and presented by the Minnesota Minute Men.


View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.