Skip to main content

Sabres get Foligno back, go for first win vs. Lightning

by Joe Yerdon

BUFFALO -- The Buffalo Sabres look to snap their three-game losing streak to start the season against the Tampa Bay Lightning on Tuesday, and they're getting Marcus Foligno back in the lineup to help out.

Foligno will start on the Sabres' second line alongside a pair of familiar faces in Tyler Ennis and Drew Stafford. Two seasons ago, this trio was one of the best lines in the NHL. Sabres coach Ron Rolston said he's looking to see some players start to jell together.

"He can provide a lot of energy for us, so we're looking for that tonight and a physical element out of him," he said. "It's just finding the chemistry on lines, and I think [Foligno]'s a guy that can make space for guys for us and get to the net. Those are some of the things we've been struggling with."

Rolston also added he's looking for some "sandpaper" on some of his lines and that's why Steve Ott will start on the top line with Cody Hodgson and Thomas Vanek.

Ryan Miller will be dressed for Tuesday's game but likely not starting in goal. Rolston did not specify his goalie, but Jhonas Enroth was the first one off the ice at the morning skate, a usual indicator of who starts.

For Tampa Bay, coach Jon Cooper is making a pair of changes.

Forward Richard Panik skated during practice on a line with Valtteri Filppula and Alex Killorn but will take a seat tonight in favor of Tom Pyatt. On defense, rookie Andrej Sustr will sit in favor of Keith Aulie. Cooper says it was about time for Aulie to get into a game.

"He deserves to be in," Cooper said. "Aulie's a good defenseman in this League. It's not that these guys are far apart from each other, so it's maintenance. Guys got to get in and play. … I would expect great things out of him tonight."

Ben Bishop was first off the ice at the morning skate and looks to get the start in goal.

As for the lines, here's what they may look like:


Steve OttCody HodgsonThomas Vanek

Marcus FolignoTyler EnnisDrew Stafford

Zemgus GirgensonsMikhail GrigorenkoBrian Flynn

John ScottKevin PorterPatrick Kaleta

Mike WeberTyler Myers

Mark PysykChristian Ehrhoff

Jamie McBainRasmus Ristolainen

Jhonas Enroth

Ryan Miller

Scratched: Cody McCormick, Alexander Sulzer

Injured: Henrik Tallinder, Ville Leino


Ryan MaloneSteven StamkosMartin St. Louis

Alex KillornValtteri FilppulaTom Pyatt

Teddy PurcellTyler JohnsonOndrej Palat

Pierre-Cedric LabrieNate ThompsonB.J. Crombeen

Victor HedmanSami Salo

Matt CarleRadko Gudas

Eric BrewerKeith Aulie

Ben Bishop

Anders Lindback

Scratched: Richard Panik, Andrej Sustr, Mark Barberio

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.