Skip to main content

Reinhart named to WHL Super Series roster

by Adam Kimelman

Sam Reinhart, expected to be one of the first players taken at the 2014 NHL Draft, was named Monday to the preliminary roster the Western Hockey League will use in its portion of the 2013 Subway Super Series.

Reinhart, a 6-foot-0.75, 185-pound center with the Kootenay Ice, is fourth in the WHL with 28 points in 17 games. He received an "A" rating from NHL Central Scouting in its preliminary list of players to watch for the 2014 draft from the WHL.

The Super Series games against Team Russia will be played Nov. 27 in Red Deer, Alberta, and Nov. 28 in Lethbridge, Alberta. The games are part of Canada's decision-making process toward picking the team that will play for Canada at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship in Malmo, Sweden. That tournament runs from Dec. 26 to Jan. 5, 2014.

Reinhart had two goals in two games and was used extensively as a penalty killer at a national junior evaluation camp in August in Lake Placid, N.Y., that included the United States, Sweden and Finland.

Two other players eligible for the 2014 draft were picked for the team: Reinhart's Kootenay teammate, Jaedon Descheneau and Colby Cave of the Swift Current Broncos.

In addition, five players taken in the first round of the 2013 NHL Draft are on the roster: Defenseman Joshua Morrissey (No. 13, Winnipeg Jets), Ryan Pulock (No. 15, New York Islanders), and forwards Curtis Lazar (No. 17, Ottawa Senators), Hunter Shinkaruk (No. 24, Vancouver Canucks) and Morgan Klimchuk (No. 28, Calgary Flames).

Brent Sutter, who coaches the Red Deer Rebels of the WHL and will coach Canada at the WJC, will coach Team WHL. Kootenay coach Ryan McGill, who will assist Sutter at the WJC, will serve as Sutter's assistants for the Super Series games.



Goaltender: Eric Comrie, Tri-City (Winnipeg)

Defensemen: Madison Bowey, Kelowna (Washington); Dillon Heatherington, Swift Current Broncos (Columbus); Joshua Morrissey, Prince Albert (Winnipeg); Derrick Pouliot, Portland (Pittsburgh); Ryan Pulock, Brandon (N.Y. Islanders); Griffin Reinhart, Edmonton (N.Y. Islanders); Damon Severson, Kelowna (New Jersey)

Forwards: Troy Bourke, Prince George (Colorado); Colby Cave, Swift Current (2014 NHL Draft eligible); Gregory Chase, Calgary (Edmonton); Jaedon Descheneau, Kootenay (2014 NHL Draft eligible); Jujhar Khaira, Everett (Edmonton); Morgan Klimchuk, Regina (Calgary); Curtis Lazar, Edmonton (Ottawa); Taylor Leier, Portland (Philadelphia); Brendan Leipsic, Portland (Nashville); Mitchell Moroz, Edmonton (Edmonton); Nicolas Petan, Portland (Winnipeg); Sam Reinhart, Kootenay (2014 NHL Draft eligible); Hunter Shinkaruk, Medicine Hat (Vancouver); Chandler Stephenson, Regina (Washington)

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.