Skip to main content

Red Wings' Datsyuk wins third Selke Trophy @NHLdotcom
Detroit Red Wings center Pavel Datsyuk has captured his third consecutive Frank Selke Trophy in recognition of "the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game," as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

Datsyuk received 37 first-place votes and was named on 99 of 133 ballots for 688 points, edging Vancouver Canucks center Ryan Kesler (36 first-place votes, 655 points) in the closest race of 2009-10 NHL Awards voting.

A master at getting and keeping the puck, Datsyuk led the NHL in takeaways for the third time in the past four seasons with a career-high 132, nearly 60% more than second-place Kesler (83). Datsyuk ranked second on the Red Wings in plus-minus with a +17 rating and was the club's top face-off man, posting a 55% winning percentage (590 of 1,070).

Datsyuk is the first player to win the Selke Trophy for three consecutive seasons since Bob Gainey of the Montreal Canadiens won it the first four seasons it was presented, from 1978 through 1981.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.