Skip to Main Content

Parise, Miller among invitees to U.S. Olympic camp

by Adam Kimelman

USA Hockey on Monday unveiled the 48 players that will take part in the U.S. Men's National Team Orientation Camp.

The camp will be held Aug. 26-27 at Kettler Capitals IcePlex, in Arlington, Va., and will serve as the first step in picking the team that will represent the U.S. at the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia.

Sixteen of the 48 players that will attend camp were part of the United States team that won the silver medal in 2010 in Vancouver. Among that group is Minnesota Wild forward Zach Parise, whose goal in the final seconds of regulation in the gold-medal game against Canada forced overtime.

Also returning from four years ago is Buffalo Sabres goalie Ryan Miller, who was named the Olympic tournament's best goaltender and most valuable player.

Other players from the 2010 team that will be at the camp are goaltender Jonathan Quick (Los Angeles Kings); defensemen Erik Johnson (Colorado Avalanche), Jack Johnson (Columbus Blue Jackets), Brooks Orpik (Pittsburgh Penguins) and Ryan Suter (Wild); and forwards David Backes (St. Louis Blues), Dustin Brown (Kings), Ryan Callahan (New York Rangers), Patrick Kane (Chicago Blackhawks), Ryan Kesler (Vancouver Canucks), Phil Kessel (Toronto Maple Leafs), Joe Pavelski (San Jose Sharks), Bobby Ryan (Ottawa Senators) and Paul Stastny (Colorado Avalanche).

Joining Miller and Quick in goal will be Craig Anderson (Ottawa Senators), John Gibson (Anaheim Ducks), Jimmy Howard (Detroit Red Wings), and Cory Schneider (New Jersey Devils).

Gibson, who helped the United States win the bronze medal at the 2013 IIHF World Championship, is one of three players invited to the camp with no NHL experience -- he played one American Hockey League game last season. Also invited are defensemen Jacob Trouba, the Winnipeg Jets' top pick in the 2012 NHL Draft who likely will make his NHL debut this season, and Seth Jones, the fourth pick of the 2013 NHL Draft by the Nashville Predators.

Dan Bylsma of the Pittsburgh Penguins will coach the team at the Olympic tournament, which runs Feb. 12-23.



Justin Abdelkader (Detroit) *David Backes (St. Louis) Beau Bennett (Pittsburgh)
Nick Bjugstad (Florida) *Dustin Brown (Los Angeles) *Ryan Callahan (N.Y. Rangers)
Alex Galchenyuk (Montreal) *Patrick Kane (Chicago) *Ryan Kesler (Vancouver)
*Phil Kessel (Toronto) Trevor Lewis (Los Angeles) Kyle Okposo (N.Y. Islanders)
T.J. Oshie (St. Louis) Max Pacioretty (Montreal) Kyle Palmieri (Anaheim)
*Zach Parise (Minnesota) *Joe Pavelski (San Jose) *Bobby Ryan (Ottawa)
Brandon Saad (Chicago) Craig Smith (Nashville) *Paul Stastny (Colorado)
Derek Stepan (N.Y. Rangers) James van Riemsdyk (Toronto) Blake Wheeler (Winnipeg)
Zach Bogosian (Winnipeg) Dustin Byfuglien (Winnipeg) John Carlson (Washington)
Danny DeKeyser (Detroit) Justin Faulk (Carolina) Cam Fowler (Anaheim)
Jake Gardiner (Toronto) *Erik Johnson (Colorado) *Jack Johnson (Columbus)
Seth Jones (Nashville) Nick Leddy (Chicago) Paul Martin (Pittsburgh)
Ryan McDonagh (N.Y. Rangers) *Brooks Orpik (Pittsburgh) Kevin Shattenkirk (St. Louis)
*Ryan Suter (Minnesota) Jacob Trouba (Winnipeg) Keith Yandle (Phoenix)
Craig Anderson (Ottawa) John Gibson (Anaheim) Jimmy Howard (Detroit)
*Ryan Miller (Buffalo) *Jonathan Quick (Los Angeles) Cory Schneider (New Jersey)

*- played on 2010 Olympic team

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.