Skip to Main Content

OHL Roundup: Mikkel Aagaard nets hat trick as IceDogs rout 67's 8-3 @NHLdotcom

ST. CATHARINES, Ont. - Mikkel Aagaard had a hat trick and an assist as the Niagara IceDogs won their sixth in a row by routing the Ottawa 67's 8-3 on Saturday night in Ontario Hockey League action.

Carter Verhaeghe scored twice for Niagara (33-25-4), with Jordan Maletta, Anthony DiFruscia and Aleksandar Mikulovich rounding out the attack.

Travis Konecny and Travis Barron found the back of the net in the second period for the 67's (34-23-5). Evan de Haan added the other.

Ottawa's Connor Graham was ejected at 19:17 of the third period after receiving a major penalty for cross checking.

Brandon Hope made 30 saves in net for the win while Liam Herbst stopped 35 shots for Ottawa.

The IceDogs were held scoreless on five chances with the man advantage while the 67's had a goal on three attempts.



SUDBURY, Ont. ? Nick Paul scored his 34th of the season as North Bay got past the Wolves.

Ryan Kujawinski, on the power play, and Brenden Miller also scored for the Battalion (32-18-11). Mike Amadio and Nick Moutrey added empty-net goals.

Travis Wood and Chad Heffernan chipped in for Sudbury (11-50-2).



PLYMOUTH, Mich. ??? Ken Appleby kicked out all 29 shots he faced as Oshawa shut out the Whalers.

Matt Mistele, Tobias Lindberg and Joe Manchurek scored for the Generals (47-9-5).

Alex Nedeljkovic made 57 saves for Plymouth (23-34-5) in a losing effort.



BARRIE, Ont. ??? Nicolas Baptiste struck twice as Erie topped the Colts to win its third in a row.

Connor McDavid, Dylan Strome and Travis Dermott supplied the rest of the offence for the Otters (43-14-4).

Justin Scott, Garrett Hooey and Andrew Mangiapane had goals for Barrie (38-23-2).



OWEN SOUND, Ont. ??? Thomas Schemitsch had a pair of goals to lead the Attack over Saginaw.

Daniel Milne, Holden Cook and Jacob Busch also scored for Owen Sound (31-21-9).

Dylan Sadowy had both goals for the Spirit (25-34-3).


View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.