Skip to main content

Nieuwendyk, Belfour, Gilmour, Howe in hockey hall @NHLdotcom

TORONTO (AP) - The Hockey Hall of Fame has opened its doors to four new members.

Joe Nieuwendyk, Ed Belfour, Doug Gilmour and Mark Howe were presented with rings at the hall Monday morning.

Howe was a converted defenseman whose smooth skating and crisp passing helped the Flyers twice reach the Stanley finals. Nieuwendyk was a quiet leader who won three Stanley Cups with three teams.

Belfour was a goaltender who finished his career third on the NHL's career win list. Gilmour was a heart-and-soul player who got the most out of his modest size.

Howe had been eligible for more than a decade, but now joins his superstar father in the shrine. Gordie Howe sat in the front row during Monday's ceremony.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.