Skip to main content

Niedermayer, Hasek, Reichel to enter IIHF Hall of Fame @NHLdotcom

Scott Niedermayer, Dominik Hasek and Robert Reichel are among a class of seven to be inducted into the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame next May in Prague, the IIHF announced on its website Thursday.

Niedermayer, a four-time Stanley Cup champion with the New Jersey Devils and Anaheim Ducks, was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2013. A member of the Triple Gold club, he led Canada to the gold medal at the 2002 Salt Lake City Olympics and 2010 Vancouver Olympics as well as the 1991 World Junior Championship and the 2004 World Championship. He also won the 2004 World Cup of Hockey with Canada.

Hasek, a member of the 2014 Hockey Hall of Fame class, may be best remembered in the Czech Republic for his performance at the 1998 Nagano Olympics, when he led his country with a shootout win against Canada in the semifinals and shut out Russia 1-0 in the gold-medal game. Hasek was one of the preeminent NHL goalies of his era, winning the Vezina Trophy six times, five with the Buffalo Sabres, and the Stanley Cup twice with the Detroit Red Wings.

Reichel, another Czech standout, was captain of the national team on eight occasions, starting with the 1990 World Junior Championship. He went on to win gold with the Czech Republic at the 1998 Nagano Olympics, where he had the decisive shootout goal against Canada in the semifinals, as well as the 1996, 2000 and 2001 World Championships. Reichel played 11 NHL seasons and was a two-time 40-goal scorer, finishing with 252 goals in his career.

The 2015 IIHF Hall of Fame class also features: Fran Rider as a Builder for her work in the creation of women's hockey at the international level; Maria Rooth, the catalyst for Sweden at the 2006 Turin Olympics as they upset the U.S. women in the semifinals en route to a silver medal; Lucio Topatigh, who played 20 seasons for Italy and will receive the Richard "Bibi" Torriani trophy; and Monique Scheier-Schneider of Luxembourg, who will be the 2015 recipient of the Paul Loicq Award.

"We are extremely proud of our newest class of inductees," IIHF President and Committee Chairman Rene Fasel said in a release on the federation's website. "These men and women have contributed to shaping our game through successful careers made possible by their determination to succeed and their dedication over a long period of time. They played at the highest level, and, in the case of Fran Rider, created the highest level. They represent the very essence as to why we have a Hall of Fame."

The new class will be inducted during the medal weekend of the 2015 World Championship.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.