Skip to Main Content

Miller, Brodeur, Bryzgalov named nominees for NHL's Vezina Trophy @NHLdotcom

NEW YORK - Martin Brodeur is a finalist for the Vezina Trophy for the ninth time.

The New Jersey Devils goaltender was uneviled as a nominee for the award Monday along with Ilya Bryzgalov of the Phoenix Coyotes and Ryan Miller of the Buffalo Sabres.

The winner will be unveiled during the NHL awards show in Las Vegas on June 23.

The Vezina Trophy is awarded to the league's best goaltender and is voted on by the 30 general managers.

Brodeur is a four-time Vezina winner and led all goaltenders in games (77), victories (45) and shutouts (nine) this season.

Bryzgalov had a breakthrough year, posting career-best totals in victories (42), games (69), shutouts (eight), goals-against average (2.29) and save percentage (.920). He helped the Coyotes set franchise records for wins and points in a season.

Miller was second in the league with a 2.22 GAA and .929 save percentage while winning 41 games. The American was named MVP of the Olympic tournament and posted a 9-2-1 record after winning a silver medal in Vancouver.

The NHL will continue to announce the finalists for its awards over the next week.

View More