Skip to main content


IIHF announces Group pools for 2016 World Juniors

by Staff /

The International Ice Hockey Federation announced the pools for Group A and Group B in the 2016 World Junior Championship in Helsinki, Finland.

The 11-day tournament will run Dec. 26 through Jan. 5, 2016, at the two biggest ice rinks in the Finnish capital, Hartwall Arena and Helsinki Ice Hall.

Host Finland will play against 2015 silver medalist Russia, bronze medal winner Slovakia, the Czech Republic and Belarus in Group B at Hartwall Arena, a 13,665-seat venue that is home to Jokerit Helsinki.

Group A will include defending champion Canada, Sweden, the United States, Denmark and Switzerland at Helsinki Ice Hall, home of IFK Helsinki with a capacity of 8,200 fans.

A schedule will be determined later.

The 2017 WJC is scheduled to take place in Montreal and Toronto. The 2018 tournament will be held in the United States.

2016 IIHF World Junior Championship
Group A Group B
Canada Russia
Sweden Slovakia
USA Czech Republic
Denmark Finland
Switzerland Belarus

View More