Skip to main content

Hockey transactions @NHLdotcom

Movements in the world of hockey Thursday:

National Hockey League

ATLANTA THRASHERS-Acquired D Steve McCarthy from Anaheim for future considerations.

CHICAGO BLACKHAWKS-Recalled F Bryan Bickell and F Rob Klinkhammer from Rockford (AHL). Waived F Danny Bois and D Richard Petit.

COLORADO AVALANCHE-Signed F Milan Hejduk to a one-year contract extension through the 2010-11 season.

DETROIT RED WINGS-Assigned D Travis Ehrhardt, D Sergei Kolosov, D Sebastien Piche, F Jamie Tardif adn F Tomas Tatar to Grand Rapids (AHL). Released F Francis Lemieux and F John Vigilante and assigned them to Grand Rapids.

LOS ANGELES KINGS-Assigned D Andrew Campbell and C Marc-Andre Cliche to Manchester (AHL). Returned LW Kyle Clifford to Barrie (OHL).

MONTREAL CANADIENS-Announced the retirement of D Patrice Brisebois.

NEW YORK RANGERS-Assigned D Bobby Sanguinetti to Hartford (AHL).

OTTAWA SENATORS-Assigned G Mike Brodeur to Binghamton (AHL).

PHOENIX COYOTES-Announced the resignation of coach Wayne Gretzky. Signed Dave Tippett coach to a four-year contract. Sent G Al Montoya, D Shaun Heshka, F Jeff Hoggan, F Joel Perrault and F David Spina to San Antonio (AHL).

ST. LOUIS BLUES-Assigned F Yan Stastny to Peoria (AHL).

VANCOUVER CANUCKS-Signed coach Alain Vigneault to a a contract extension through the 2012-13 season. Assigned D Taylor Ellington, LW Pierre-Cedric Labrie, D Evan Oberg and RW Eric Walsky to Manitoba (AHL). Released G Darren Machesney and D Travis Ramsey and assigned them to Manitoba.

American Hockey League

CHICAGO WOLVES-Released F Ryan Cruthers, F Matt Robertson, F Darryl Lloyd, F Jon Booras, D R.J. Linder, D Olivier Labelle, D Nicholas Goyens and G Tyler Sims.

HARTFORD WOLF PACK-Loaned F Ryan Garlock to Charlotte (ECHL). Announced F Chris Chappell has been reassigned to Charlotte. Released F Tyler Roig, F Matt Schepke, F Andrew Carroll and D Steve Ward who will join Charlotte. Released F Daniel Bartek, F Matt Maccarone and D Sasha Pokulok. Announced D Sam Klassen has been reassigned to Saskatoon (WHL) and D David Stich has been released and will return to Major Junior hockey.

MANITOBA MOOSE-Assigned G John Murray to Victoria (ECHL). Released LW Kaleb Betts, C Alexandre Imbeault, D Nicholas Bilotto, D Josh Kidd, D Robbie Bina, D Guillaume Lepine, D Julien Brouillette, D Scott Marchesi, G Stefan Drew, D Andrew Martens, C Matt Eagles, RW Ryan Menei, C Olivier Filion, RW Jon Rheault, C Ryan Garbutt, RW Matt Stefanishion, C Greg Hogeboom, RW Bear Trapp and D Scott Hotham.

SPRINGFIELD FALCONS-Released F Chris Davis, F Colin Power, F Chris D'Alvise, D Daryl Marcoux, F Chanse Fitzpatrick, F Jeff Hazelwood, D Jay Holladay and D Tim Kunes.

WORCESTER SHARKS-Released F Kerry Bowman, F Jon Pelle, D Chris Clark, D Arthur Fritch, D Jon Landry and D Jeff Mason.

International Hockey League

MUSKEGON LUMBERJACKS-Signed D Rumun Ndur, D Todd Spencer and RW Mark Cody to one-year contracts.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.