Skip to Main Content

HHOF announces 2009 Foster Hewitt Memorial Award, Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award recipients @NHLdotcom
TORONTO -- Bill Hay, Chairman of the Hockey Hall of Fame, announced today that DAVE MOLINARI, the newspaper voice of the Pittsburgh Penguins will receive the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award for print journalism. Hay also announced that JOHN DAVIDSON, a long-time broadcaster who is currently the President of Hockey Operations with the St. Louis Blues, will receive the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for outstanding contributions as a hockey broadcaster.

Molinari is described by his colleagues as a survivor. A survivor whose subtle blend of dry wit and unending sarcasm got him through a series of devastating newspaper strikes in Pittsburgh, the disintegration of his newspaper, The Pittsburgh Press.  Most notably he was the lead chronicler for all of the tragedies and triumphs of Mario Lemieux's career as the lead hockey writer for the Pittsburgh Post Gazette.

"Since 1984 Dave Molinari has been telling the Pittsburgh Penguins story with the perfect blend of insightful analysis and entertaining prose," said PHWA President Kevin Allen. "The fans of Pittsburgh of been fortunate to have highly skilled players such as Mario Lemieux, Jaromir Jagr, Evgeni Malkin and Sidney Crosby. And they have been equally fortunate to have a highly skilled writer such as Dave to chronicle their successes. With his dry wit, Dave is also the leading press box humorist in the hockey writing community. He is one of the most respected hockey writers in the game today."

Davidson, a former goaltender for the St. Louise Blues and the team's first-round draft choice in 1973, boasts an impressive hockey career on and off the ice, including as a analyst for the Madison Square Garden (MSG) Network, CBC and various other national hockey broadcast partners in the United States and Canada. Awarded the Lester Patrick Award in 2004 for his contribution to American hockey, Davidson's distinguished broadcasting career includes lead analyst work at the past five Olympic Winter Games.

"John Davidson has had a remarkable career in almost every aspect of professional hockey, and we as a broadcast community benefited immensely from his expertise and professionalism," said Chuck Kaiton, President, NHL Broadcasters' Association. "He is an incredibly deserving recipient of this honour."

Molinari and Davidson will receive the awards at a luncheon presentation on Monday, November 9, 2009.  This year's Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Weekend will take place November 6th to 9th, culminating with the Induction Ceremony beginning at 7:30 P.M. (EST) on Monday, November 9.

This year's Hockey Hall of Fame Inductees will be announced on June 23, 2009, following the annual Selection Committee meeting that same day. First-year eligible players for induction in 2009 include Steve Yzerman, Brett Hull, Brian Leetch, Alexander Mogilny and Luc Robitaille.

The Foster Hewitt Memorial Award is named in honour of the late "Voice of Hockey" in Canada.  It was first presented in 1984 by the NHL Broadcasters' Association in recognition of members of the radio and television industry who have made outstanding contributions to their profession and to the game of hockey.

Named in honour of the late Montreal newspaper reporter, the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award was first presented in 1984 by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association in recognition of distinguished members of the newspaper profession whose words have brought honour to journalism and to the game of hockey.

Established in 1943, the Hockey Hall of Fame is a museum and place of entertainment offering state-of-the-art multimedia presentations and exhibits from its premises at BCE Place, Toronto, Canada.  Its mandate is to recognize and honour the achievements of teams and individuals who bring special distinction to the game of hockey, and to collect and preserve objects, images and resource materials connected with the game as it is played in Canada and throughout the world.

View More