Skip to main content

Hall of Fame names Lanny McDonald chair of board @NHLdotcom

Lanny McDonald will become the next chair of the board of the Hockey Hall of Fame, vice chair Jim Gregory announced Wednesday.

McDonald, a Hall of Fame member who currently serves on the selection committee, will take over the position effective July 1. He replaces the late Pat Quinn, who died in November.

"As a perennial supporter since his induction in 1992 and a member of the selection committee for the past nine years, Lanny is familiar with the affairs of the Hockey Hall of Fame just as the hockey world remembers his achievements during his outstanding playing career," Gregory said in a statement. "While Lanny is highly recognized as an exceptional hockey player, he is also a dedicated family man, community benefactor, philanthropist and successful businessman whose leadership qualities will be a valuable asset to the Hall and its continued growth and development."

McDonald scored 500 goals and 1,006 points and won the Stanley Cup in 1989 with the Calgary Flames.

"I am thrilled and honored for this opportunity to contribute at the board level in support of the best sports hall of fame and museum in the world," McDonald said. "The Hockey Hall of Fame is a very special place to me, as it is to hockey fans of all ages, and having served on the selection committee under the stewardship of Jim Gregory, Bill Hay, Pat Quinn and John Davidson, I appreciate the tremendous effort that goes into this institution celebrated for honoring excellence in the game of hockey."

Gregory confirmed the annual elections meeting of the selection committee will be held on June 28 and 29 in Toronto, with the announcement of the 2015 inductees on June 29. The Hockey Hall of Fame induction celebration will be held Nov. 9.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.