Skip to main content

FLA @ PIT - 1:16 of the Third Period @NHLdotcom

At 1:16 of the third period in the Panthers/Penguins game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Pittsburgh net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he initially signaled a goal for Florida, but after huddling with the other on-ice officials determined that the puck deflected off the stick of Panthers forward Reilly Smith above the height of the crossbar before crossing the goal line. According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick." Video review was inconclusive in determining where the puck hit the stick, therefore the decision by the on-ice officials stands - no goal Florida Panthers.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.