Skip to main content

First round of 2015 NHL Draft coming into form

by Adam Kimelman

The start of the conference finals not only means four teams remain in the race for the Stanley Cup. It also affects the first round of the 2015 NHL Draft, which will be held June 26-27 at BB&T Center in Sunrise, Fla.

After the NHL Draft Lottery set the order for the first 14 picks, the end of the second round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs established how the next 12 picks will go.

The order is determined in two parts. First are non-division winners eliminated in the first two rounds placed in inverse order of regular-season standings. Then come division winners who lost in the first two rounds in inverse order of regular-season point totals.

Three teams learned when their second first-round picks will be. The Edmonton Oilers, who won the draft lottery and will pick No. 1, also have the No. 16 pick, which they acquired from the Pittsburgh Penguins in the trade for forward David Perron.

The Buffalo Sabres have the No. 2 pick and also No. 21, which was acquired last season from the New York Islanders as part of the Thomas Vanek trade.

The Toronto Maple Leafs will pick No. 4 and No. 24, a selection they acquired from the Nashville Predators as part of the trade for defenseman Cody Franson and forward Mike Santorelli.

The Winnipeg Jets have the 17th pick and also own the 25th pick, which originally belonged to the St. Louis Blues. The Sabres had acquired the pick as part of the Ryan Miller trade last season, and then sent it this season to the Jets as part of the package to acquire forward Evander Kane.

The 27th and 28th picks will go to the losing teams in the conference finals, with the team that had fewer points in the regular season getting No. 27. The losing team in the Stanley Cup Final will pick 29th and the Stanley Cup winner gets No. 30.

Of the four teams remaining, the Chicago Blackhawks had the fewest points in the regular season (102), followed by the Tampa Bay Lightning (108), the Anaheim Ducks (109) and the New York Rangers (113).

The Arizona Coyotes and Philadelphia Flyers have an extra interest in the conference finals. The Coyotes own the Blackhawks' pick through the Antoine Vermette trade; the Flyers own the Lightning's pick because of the Braydon Coburn trade. The Lighting also own the Rangers' pick through the Martin St. Louis/Ryan Callahan trade last season.

Here is the updated order:

1. Edmonton Oilers

2. Buffalo Sabres

3. Arizona Coyotes

4. Toronto Maple Leafs

5. Carolina Hurricanes

6. New Jersey Devils

7. Philadelphia Flyers

8. Columbus Blue Jackets

9. San Jose Sharks

10. Colorado Avalanche

11. Florida Panthers

12. Dallas Stars

13. Los Angeles Kings

14. Boston Bruins

15. Calgary Flames

16. Edmonton Oilers (from Pittsburgh Penguins)

17. Winnipeg Jets

18. Ottawa Senators

19. Detroit Red Wings

20. Minnesota Wild

21. Buffalo Sabres (from New York Islanders)

22. Washington Capitals

23. Vancouver Canucks

24. Toronto Maple Leafs (from Nashville Predators)

25. Winnipeg Jets (from St. Louis Blues via Buffalo Sabres)

26. Montreal Canadiens


View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.