Skip to main content

Emrick to receive Vin Scully Achievement Award @NHLdotcom

Mike "Doc" Emrick, the voice of the NHL on NBC, will receive the Vin Scully Lifetime Achievement Award in Sports Broadcasting on Nov. 2 from WFUV Radio in New York, the radio station announced Tuesday.

"When I received the call from Vin Scully that I'd been selected to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award that bears his name, I was speechless, and that's rare for me," Emrick said.

Emrick has been the primary play-by-play man for NBC since 2011 and has called more than 3,000 games in his 39 years covering professional hockey, including 32 in the NHL. He received the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award from the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2008 and became the first broadcaster inducted into the United States Hockey Hall of Fame in 2012. Emrick also has won two Emmy awards (2010 and 2013) for best sports play-by-play personality, the first hockey announcer to do so.

Before becoming the voice of hockey on NBC, Emrick spent 18 seasons as the play-by-play broadcaster for the New Jersey Devils. He has covered 25 consecutive Stanley Cup Playoffs, 14 Stanley Cup Final series and 10 NHL All-Star Games.

Emrick will be the eighth broadcaster selected for the award, named after longtime Los Angeles Dodgers announcer and Fordham University alum Vin Scully. After inaugural honoree Scully in 2008, previous recipients of the award include Dick Enberg (2009), Ernie Harwell (2010), Pat Summerall (2011), Al Michaels (2012), Bob Costas (2013), and Verne Lundquist (2014).

"Although I am sure the event in November will be another lifetime memory, I have never forgotten the call and the knowledge of the past honorees who voted me this honor," Emrick said. "I am grateful to Vin and to WFUV, and all on the selection committee."

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.