Skip to main content

Crosby, Markov remain atop Eastern Conference in XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, presented by 2K Sports @NHLdotcom
NEW YORK – Heading into the final week of voting, Pittsburgh Penguins captain Sidney Crosby (445,041) and Montreal Canadiens defenseman Andrei Markov (282,256) remain atop the Eastern Conference in the XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports. New Jersey Devils goaltender Martin Brodeur (184,940) has the most votes among goaltenders, followed by netminder Henrik Lundqvist (154,759) of the New York Rangers, this week’s biggest gainer in votes. More than 10.8 million votes have been cast in the all-digital voting program. Voting ends Wednesday, Jan. 2.

The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27 in Atlanta (6 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio).  Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

Crosby, Tampa Bay Lightning center Vincent Lecavalier (198,922) and Ottawa Senators right wing Daniel Alfredsson (197,629) are the top vote-getters among forwards in the Eastern Conference. Markov and Zdeno Chara (234,706) of the Boston Bruins are the leading defensemen. Brodeur tops all goaltenders in votes in the East.

Updated balloting results for the Western Conference will be announced tomorrow. The starters will be announced on Tuesday, Jan. 8.

Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to “Vote Now, Vote Often” for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game. U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones.  

On, the XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section features an interactive ballot, showcasing players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8 footage.  Residents of the United States and Canada who vote are able to register for a chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC radios with three months of free service, 2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates.

One grand-prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, courtesy of XM.  The winner will watch the game in a private suite with former NHL players.  Additionally, each registered voter will automatically qualify to receive a 14-day free trial of XM Radio Online.

Verizon Wireless customers can vote and can register for the sweepstakes by voting using their Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones. The process is simple: launch the Mobile Web browser, select Sports, select NHL Mobile and then select All-Star Balloting.  To vote, follow the instructions on the screen.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe.  NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and

XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports
Eastern Conference

(as of 12/26/07)

Player                                    NHL Club               Votes
Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh 445,144
Vincent Lecavalier Tampa Bay 198,953
Daniel Alfredsson Ottawa 197,693
Daniel Briere Philadelphia 162,019
Alex Ovechkin Washington 151,389
Ilya Kovalchuk Atlanta 149,535
Dany Heatley Ottawa 116,323
Saku Koivu Montreal 103,395
Maxim Afinogenov Buffalo 95,632
Chris Drury NY Rangers 79,046
Evgeni Malkin Pittsburgh 70,730
Mats Sundin Toronto 69,989
Jason Blake Toronto 63,356
Jaromir Jagr NY Rangers 62,831
*Alex Kovalev Montreal 62,567
Jason Spezza Ottawa 53,013
Simon Gagne Philadelphia 52,934
Thomas Vanek Buffalo 50,335
Marian Hossa Atlanta 49,964
*Mike Richards Philadelphia 45,746
Martin St. Louis Tampa Bay 41,547
Patrik Elias New Jersey 40,350
Brendan Shanahan NY Rangers 38,728
Vyacheslav Kozlov Atlanta 32,793
Eric Staal Carolina 31,192
Marc Savard Boston 25,048
Bill Guerin NY Islanders 22,993
Olli Jokinen Florida 22,583
Scott Gomez NY Rangers 21,669
Justin Williams Carolina 19,074
Brian Gionta New Jersey 17,328
*Nik Antropov Toronto 13,256
Brad Richards Tampa Bay 13,135

Andrei Markov Montreal 282,336
Zdeno Chara Boston 234,779
Brian Campbell Buffalo 176,262
Tomas Kaberle Toronto 170,036
Kimmo Timonen Philadelphia 132,977
Wade Redden Ottawa 129,455
Jay Bouwmeester Florida 120,839
Ryan Whitney Pittsburgh 120,590
Bryan McCabe Toronto 97,257
Dan Boyle Tampa Bay 92,050
Chris Phillips Ottawa 90,085
Henrik Tallinder Buffalo 75,016
Martin Brodeur New Jersey 185,003
Henrik Lundqvist NY Rangers 154,827
Cristobal Huet Montreal 154,198
Martin Biron Philadelphia 105,449
Ryan Miller Buffalo 76,824
Rick DiPietro NY Islanders 48,865
Ray Emery Ottawa 48,741
Cam Ward Carolina 38,906
Olaf Kolzig Washington 29,244
Tomas Vokoun Florida 24,220

*write-in candidate


View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.