Skip to main content

Canada names 20 to World Championship roster @NHLdotcom

Canada named a first group of 20 players who will take part in the 2014 IIHF World Championship, which will be held May 9-25 in Minsk, Belarus.

The announcement was made Thursday by Rob Blake, general manager of the Canada national men's team, in collaboration with Hockey Canada. The 20 players are members of NHL teams that did not qualify for the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Participating nations can add players, including those eliminated during the playoffs, but can register no more than 25 players, including three goaltenders, on their official rosters.

Dave Tippett of the Phoenix Coyotes was named Wednesday as coach, with Peter DeBoer of the New Jersey Devils and Paul Maurice of the Winnipeg Jets as associate coaches.


Troy Brouwer (Washington Capitals)

Alexandre Burrows (Vancouver Canucks)

Jason Chimera (Washington Capitals)

Cody Hodgson (Buffalo Sabres)

Jonathan Huberdeau (Florida Panthers)

Nazem Kadri (Toronto Maple Leafs)

Sean Monahan (Calgary Flames)

David Perron (Edmonton Oilers)

Mark Scheifele (Winnipeg Jets)

Kyle Turris (Ottawa Senators)

Joel Ward (Washington Capitals)


Kevin Bieksa (Vancouver Canucks)

Ryan Ellis (Nashville Predators)

Jason Garrison (Vancouver Canucks)

Erik Gudbranson (Florida Panthers)

Marc Methot (Ottawa Senators)

Tyler Myers (Buffalo Sabres)

Morgan Rielly (Toronto Maple Leafs)


James Reimer (Toronto Maple Leafs)

Ben Scrivens (Edmonton Oilers)

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.