Skip to main content

Boston Bruins' Patrice Bergeron wins 3rd Selke Trophy as NHL's best defensive forward @NHLdotcom

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins has won the Selke Trophy as the NHL's best defensive forward for the third time in four years.

Bergeron accepted the trophy at the NHL Awards show in Las Vegas on Wednesday night.

Bergeron also won the award in 2012 and 2014. He beat Chicago captain Jonathan Toews and Los Angeles Kings forward Anze Kopitar in the voting.

Bergeron led the NHL in faceoff wins and winning percentage in the just-completed season while ranking as one of the NHL's best puck-possession forwards. His disciplined two-way game also included 23 goals, 32 assists and a plus-2 rating in 81 games.

Toews won the award in 2013.

Just one forward playing west of the Central time zone has ever won the Selke.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.