Skip to main content

Blackhawks' Keith wins first Norris Trophy @NHLdotcom
Duncan Keith of the Chicago Blackhawks has won the James Norris Memorial Trophy, awarded to the defenseman demonstrating "the greatest all-around ability in the position," as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Keith received 76 of 133 first-place votes and 1,096 points to edge Mike Green of the Washington Capitals, who garnered 34 first-place votes and 831 points to earn a second-place finish in Norris Trophy voting for the second consecutive season.

Playing all 82 games for the third time in his five-year NHL career, Keith logged a total of 2,180:34 in ice time, the most among all NHL players. Having steadily increased his production each year, he took his offense to another level this season, registering career highs in goals (14), assists (55) and points (69). Keith ranked second to Washington’s Mike Green among NHL defensemen in assists and points. He posted a plus-21 rating and is plus-84 over the past three seasons.

Keith is the fourth Blackhawks defenseman to capture the Norris Trophy since it was first presented in 1954, joining Pierre Pilote (1963 through 1965), Doug Wilson (1982) and Chris Chelios (1993 and 1996). He is the fifth defenseman in the expansion era to win the Norris and the Stanley Cup in the same season, following Bobby Orr (Boston, 1970 and 1972), Larry Robinson (Montreal, 1977), Paul Coffey (Edmonton, 1985) and Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit, 2002 and 2008).

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.