Skip to main content


AHL Hall of Fame enshrines four new members @NHL

The four newest members of the American Hockey League Hall of Fame were enshrined Wednesday as part of the 2014 AHL All-Star Classic in St. John's, Newfoundland.

The newest members of the AHL Hall of Fame are Bill Dineen, Al MacNeil, Bob Perreault and John Slaney. They were inducted during a ceremony at St. John's Convention Centre.

Dineen was a four-time 20-goal scorer in the AHL who went on to win two Calder Cups as coach of the Adirondack Red Wings. MacNeil won three Calder Cups as a coach and his .646 winning percentage is the highest in AHL history. Perreault won four Calder Cups and 229 regular-season as a goaltender for 13 seasons in the league. Slaney, a native of St. John's, was one of the highest-scoring defensemen in AHL history.

Fans can visit the AHL Hall of Fame online at

The enshrinement was followed by the AHL All-Star Classic on Wednesday night at Mile One Centre in St. John's; a team of AHL All-Stars beat Farjestad of the Swedish Hockey League 7-2.

View More