Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Toronto Maple Leafs

Pat Quinn honoured recipient of Bickell Memorial Trophy Cup

by Staff Writer / Toronto Maple Leafs
Steve A. Stavro, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment Ltd. announced today that the Board has awarded the J.P. Bickell Memorial Cup to Pat Quinn in recognition of his distinguished service to the Toronto Maple Leafs Hockey Club and the game of hockey as a player, coach and general manager.
Quinn received the Bickell Cup for his contributions to the game.

Photo by Dave Sandford /Getty Images /NHLI

Mr. Stavro stated: "This award recognizes Pat's outstanding service to the Maple Leafs particularly last season when the team achieved 100 points, third place in the overall standings and the semi-finals of the playoffs despite injuries to five key players. This award also recognizes Pat's contribution to the game in Canada as Head Coach of our men's hockey team, which this year won the first Olympic gold medal for our country in fifty years."

The Bickell trophy honours the memory of the late J.P. Bickell who served as President, Chairman and member of the Board of Directors of Maple Leaf Gardens from its inauguration in 1931 until 1951. It may be awarded from time to time by the Board of Directors for one tremendous feat, for a season of spectacular play or for remarkable long-term service. The Bickell was last awarded in 1999 to Mats Sundin and Curtis Joseph.

Past winners of the Bickell also include: Ted Kennedy, Harry Lumley, Tod Sloan, George Armstrong, Bob Pulford, Johnny Bower, Red Kelly, Dave Keon, Allan Stanley, Terry Sawchuk, Tim Horton, Bob Baun, King Clancy, Mike Palmateer, Bob Davidson and Doug Gilmour.
View More