Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Toronto Maple Leafs

Mogilny Gets The Lady Byng

by Staff Writer / Toronto Maple Leafs
(TORONTO CP) -- Maple Leafs right-winger Alexander Mogilny, who spent only 12 minutes in penalty boxes in the 73 games he played last season, won the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy as most gentlemanly player during the NHL's annual awards ceremonies Thursday night.

Mogilny, 33, a Siberian, led the Leafs and was 15th in the league in scoring with 79 points including 33 goals.

He's the first Toronto player to win the Byng since Dave Keon in 1963.

The other finalists in voting by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' association were Dallas centre Mike Modano, who took 30 minutes in penalties, and Detroit defenceman Nicklas Lidstrom, who took only 38 minutes in penalties. It was the fifth straight year Lidstrom was a finalist and didn't win the Byng.



St. Louis Blues defenceman Barret Jackman is the first Canadian defenceman since Ray Bourque in 1980 to win the Calder Trophy as NHL rookie of the year.

Jackman, 22, earned the distinction at the league's annual awards banquet Thursday night. His ability to step in and help fill the void left in the Blues lineup by the absence of injured captain Chris Pronger for most of the season impressed members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association who cast ballots.

Jackman was second among all rookies in plus-minus ratings with a plus-23.

The Trail, B.C., native edged left-wingers Henrik Zetterberg of the Detroit Red Wings and Rick Nash of the Columbus Blue Jackets.

Jackman was St. Louis' first pick, 17th overall, in the 1999 entry draft. He spent one year with the AHL farm club in Worcester, Mass., after leaving the WHL's Regina Pats.

He's only the second defenceman in the last 14 years to win the Calder. Bryan Berard, an American, won it in 1997.

It's the first time in 15 years a Canadian has been named top rookie two years in a row. Calgary native Dany Heatley of the Atlanta Thrashers won last year.

Columbus forward Rick Nash of Brampton, Ont., and Swede Henrik Zetterberg of the Red Wings are the other finalists but neither had points totals substantial enough to grab front-runner status.


Steve Yzerman, who returned Feb. 24 from off-season knee surgery and helped the Detroit Red Wings move up to second place in the NHL's Western Conference, is the 2003 winner of the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

The black-tie crowd gave Yzerman and extended ovation when his name was announced during the league's annual awards gala.

Months of arduous rehabilitation enabled him to resume his career after doctors who operated suggested he might not be able to make it back. He underwent an osteotomy, a realignment procedure of a damaged knee.

Detroit went 14-1-0-1 with their captain back in the lineup to finish the regular season.

Yzerman, 38, who was born in Cranbrook, B.C., and grew up in the Ottawa region, has helped the Red Wings win the Stanley Cup three times.

The winner is determined by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association. The trophy commemorates the late Bill Masterton, a player with the Minnesota North Stars who died Jan. 15, 1968, as a result of injuries suffered in an NHL game.


Martin Brodeur is finally going to get his name on the Vezina Trophy.

The New Jersey goaltender, who proved in helping Canada to Olympic gold and in winning three Stanley Cups with the Devils that he's among the best that has stood in a crease, was named top goalie for the first time during the NHL's 2002-2003 awards ceremonies Thursday night.

Brodeur, 31, from Montreal, was presented with the trophy three days after setting a playoff record with a seventh shutout as the Devils won their third title in nine years. He was a big part of them all, but he had never been given the Vezina for his consistent regular-season excellence.

Brodeur posted 41 victories and nine shutouts - both league highs.

He was second to Dominik Hasek in Vezina voting by the league's general managers in 1997 and 1998 and was third in 2001 when Hasek again won it.

Brodeur, who was paid $6.89 million US this season, pockets a $400,000 US team bonus for winning the Vezina.


Jere Lehtinen of the Dallas Stars won the Frank J. Selke Trophy as top defensive forward in the NHL for the third time Thursday night.

Lehtinen, 29, of Espoo, Finland, led the Stars and was fourth in the league in plus-minus with a plus-39 rating.

The veteran right-winger has consistently been one of the most complete two-way players in hockey. He won the Selke in 1998 and 1999 and was third in 1997 and 2002 in voting by selected members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association in the 30 NHL cities.


Minnesota Wild coach Jacques Lemaire, who won the Jack Adams Award in 1994 with the New Jersey Devils, was named NHL coach of the year for the second time during the league's annual awards ceremonies Thursday night.

Lemaire, 57, born in LaSalle, Que., led the Wild to a 42-29-10-1 record for 95 points and a playoff berth in only the team's third season. It was the second-best showing by a third-year club since 1967.

The team's goals-against average of 2.14 was fourth-best in the league, reflecting Lemaire's insistence on defence-first hockey from his players.

Ottawa's Jacques Martin and Tampa Bay's John Tortorella were the other finalists in voting by members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association.


Brendan Shanahan of the Detroit Red Wings is the 2003 recipient of the NHL's King Clancy Memorial Trophy for humanitarianism.

Shanahan, 34, grew up in Toronto where his late father was a firefighter.

Concerned about the number of unnecessary deaths cause by house fires and in honour of his father, he started a program with the Detroit fire department to assist low-income families purchase and install smoke detectors.

As well, quietly and without fanfare, Shanahan often visits with terminally ill children and adults through his involvement with the Make-A-Wish Foundation.

The left-winger, a 16-year NHL veteran, was given the trophy during the league's annual awards ceremonies Thursday night.


Nicklas Lidstrom is the first player to be named top NHL defenceman for three consecutive years since Bobby Orr's run of eight consecutive James Norris Memorial Trophy wins from 1968 to 1975.

"I've never met him but I'd like to meet him and get a picture taken with him," Lidstrom said in an interview at the NHL's annual awards ceremonies Thursday night.

The classy Detroit Red Wings star, 33, from Vasteras, Sweden, led all players in ice time per game - 29 minutes 20 seconds - and was third in plus-minus ratings with a plus-40.

He was third in scoring among defencemen with 62 points including 18 goals. In his own end, his outstanding positional play always makes him stand out.

It was the sixth straight year he was a finalist for the Norris. He was second for three years in a row before winning it the first time in 2001.

Al MacInnis of the St. Louis Blues and Derian Hatcher of the Dallas Stars were the other finalists in voting by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.


NHL scoring champion Peter Forsberg of the Colorado Avalanche is the league's most valuable player.

Forsberg, the first Swede to win the Art Ross Trophy after amassing 106 points including 29 goals during the regular season, also became the first Swede to win the Hart Memorial Trophy when he got it during the league's annual awards ceremonies Thursday night.

Forsberg, 29, had a remarkable comeback last season after missing the previous season recuperating from injuries and contemplating his future. He tied for first in plus-minus ratings with a plus-52.

The other finalists in voting by members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association were New Jersey goalie Martin Brodeur and Vancouver forward Markus Naslund.
View More