Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

St. Louis Humbled By Fourth Consecutive Lady Byng Nomination

by Brian Breseman / Tampa Bay Lightning
St. Louis Humbled By Fourth Consecutive Lady Byng Nomination

Tampa Bay Lightning forward Martin St. Louis was again named a finalist for the NHL’s Lady Byng Trophy today the NHL announced on NHL LIVE!.  It is St. Louis’ fourth consecutive season being nominated for the award, which is given annually to the player who best combines productivity with sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct.  Detroit forward Pavel Datsyuk, who has taken home the award the previous three seasons, as well as former Lightning and current Dallas Stars forward Brad Richards are the other nominees.

Despite being nominated three other times, St. Louis has never won.  This season though, his 94 points are more than the other nominees while his 12 penalty minutes are less.  NHL on the Fly analysts Craig Button, a former NHL executive, and Gary Green, a former NHL head coach, both said their choice would be St. Louis. Yet he remains humble.

“There are a lot of great players on that trophy,” St. Louis said.  “It would be an honor and I would be very proud if my name were added to it as well.  I like to think that I play the game hard, but I’m aware of playing the game the right way, within the rules and without taking penalties.”

Richards recorded 24 goals and 91 points with 14 penalty minutes in 80 games this season while Datsyuk notched 27 goals and 70 points with 18 penalty minutes in 80 contests.  Richards took home the Lady Byng in 2004.

The winner of the Lady Byng will be announced on Wednesday, June 23 during the 2010 NHL Awards that will be broadcast live from the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas on VERSUS.  Lightning center Steven Stamkos will also be awarded the Maurice “Rocket” Richard trophy along with co-winner Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins as the NHL’s leading goal-scorers.

View More