Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

NHL Awards: The Final Tally

by Missy Zielinski / Tampa Bay Lightning

Ben Bishop, goaltender – Not only was Ben Bishop a Vezina Trophy finalist, placing third in the final voting, but 154 votes from representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association landed him just shy of being named to the 2013-14 NHL All-Star Team. Fellow Vezina Trophy candidates Tuukka Rask and Semyon Varlamov were named to the first and second All-Star team, respectively, while Bishop finished third in voting. He also finished at ninth in voting for the Hart Trophy (MVP of League).

Tyler Johnson, forward – In addition to being a finalist for the Calder Trophy, Tyler Johnson was named to the 2013-14 NHL All-Rookie team along with fellow teammate Ondrej Palat. Johnson, who finished third in the running for the Calder,  was also 19th overall in voting for the Frank Selke Award, given to the most defensive-minded forward.

Ondrej Palat, forward – Ondrej Palat was the runner-up to Nathan MacKinnor for the Calder Trophy and was named to the NHL All-Rookie team. In addition, Palat was also 11th overall in voting for the Frank Selke Award.

Victor Hedman, defenseman – As Victor Hedman continues to hit his stride into a top-tier blueliner, many took notice. Hedman finished ninth in voting for the Norris Trophy awarded to the top defenseman in the NHL.


Steve Yzerman, vice president and general manager – Steve Yzerman, who bred a playoff caliber team with the help a number of talented prospects that made the leap to the NHL, finished 8th in voting for the General Manager of the Year.

Jon Cooper, head coach – Jon Cooper finished third overall in voting for the Jack Adams Award given to the top coach in the league.

View More