Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

NHL Announces 2011-12 National Television Schedule

by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning

The NHL today announced its national television schedule for the 2011-12 season. The schedule features a Tampa Bay Lightning franchise record 21 games televised in the United States on both VERSUS and NHL Network. Tampa Bay will also have five games televised nationally in Canada on CBC and TSN.

Of a team-record 11 games on VERSUS, five of them will be played at the St. Pete Times Forum and six will be played on the road. Highlights include three of the six games played this season between the Lightning and division-rival Washington Capitals, including the Bolts’ first appearance at the Verizon Center since last year’s Eastern Conference Semifinal. VERSUS will also air two of the four games Tampa Bay will play against the Philadelphia Flyers, including the first meeting, November 9 at the Times Forum. Lightning general manager Steve Yzerman’s first return to Detroit since joining Tampa Bay will air on November 30.

NHL Network in the United States will pick up local broadcasts of five Lightning home games and five road games. Of those included are the Lightning’s return to Boston for the first time since Game 7 of the 2011 Eastern Conference Final on October 8, as well as the first meeting between the Bolts and Pittsburgh Penguins since the Game 7 of the Eastern Conference Quarterfinal on November 17. The NHL Network will also air two meetings between the Lightning and Capitals, meaning five of the teams’ six meetings will air nationally.

In Canada, CBC will air four games, including the Lightning’s first game against the newly-relocated Winnipeg Jets on October 29 at the Times Forum. TSN will also air one game when the Bolts visit the Bell Centre in Montreal on April 4.

The Lightning open up their home preseason schedule on Wednesday, September 21 against the St. Louis Blues at the Amway Center in Orlando and play their only game at the St. Pete Times Forum on Friday, September 23 against the Florida Panthers. Tickets to both games are on sale now. For more information visit www.tampabaylightning.com.

GM # DAY DATE VISITOR HOME EASTERN TIME US
NATL TV
CA
NATL TV
10 Sat. 10/8/11 Tampa Bay Boston 7:00 PM NHLN-US
29 Mon. 10/10/11 Tampa Bay Washington 7:00 PM VS
113 Tue. 10/25/11 Tampa Bay Buffalo 7:30 PM VS
146 Sat. 10/29/11 Winnipeg Tampa Bay 7:00 PM CBC
181 Fri. 11/4/11 Chicago Tampa Bay 7:30 PM NHLN-US
212 Wed. 11/9/11 Philadelphia Tampa Bay 7:30 PM VS
263 Thu. 11/17/11 Pittsburgh Tampa Bay 7:30 PM NHLN-US
341 Mon. 11/28/11 Tampa Bay Minnesota 7:30 PM VS
354 Wed. 11/30/11 Tampa Bay Detroit 7:30 PM VS
425 Sat. 12/10/11 Tampa Bay Philadelphia 7:00 PM NHLN-US
435 Mon. 12/12/11 New Jersey Tampa Bay 7:00 PM VS
604 Sat. 1/7/12 Tampa Bay Montreal 7:00 PM CBC
642 Fri. 1/13/12 Tampa Bay Washington 7:00 PM NHLN-US
742 Tue. 1/31/12 Washington Tampa Bay 7:30 PM VS
792 Tue. 2/7/12 Los Angeles Tampa Bay 7:30 PM VS
869 Sat. 2/18/12 Washington Tampa Bay 7:00 PM NHLN-US
914 Sat. 2/25/12 Tampa Bay Pittsburgh 1:00 PM NHLN-US
961 Fri. 3/2/12 N.Y. Rangers Tampa Bay 7:30 PM NHLN-US
1001 Thu. 3/8/12 Tampa Bay Washington 7:00 PM NHLN-US
1071 Sat. 3/17/12 St. Louis Tampa Bay 7:00 PM NHLN-US
1134 Mon. 3/26/12 Tampa Bay Philadelphia 7:30 PM VS
1140 Tue. 3/27/12 Tampa Bay Boston 7:30 PM VS
1174 Sat. 3/31/12 Winnipeg Tampa Bay 7:00 PM CBC
1187 Mon. 4/2/12 Washington Tampa Bay 7:00 PM VS
1199 Wed. 4/4/12 Tampa Bay Montreal 7:30 PM TSN
1223 Sat. 4/7/12 Tampa Bay Winnipeg 7:00 PM CBC


View More