Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Lightning Ready to Strike in Las Vegas

by Brittany Harding / Tampa Bay Lightning

After the second-best season in franchise history, Tampa Bay Lightning players, as well as general manager Steve Yzerman, are up for a number of honors at the 2011 NHL Awards Show in Las Vegas Wednesday night at the Palms Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas (7 p.m., Versus). Awards that players could return back to Tampa with include the Hart Memorial Trophy, Lady Byng Memorial Trophy and the Ted Lindsay Award. Yzerman has been nominated as NHL General Manager of the Year.

Hart Memorial Trophy
The Hart Memorial Trophy is the league’s most valuable player award. It was first given out to Frank Nighbor of the Ottawa Senators in 1924. The winner is determined by the members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association. Martin St. Louis has been nominated for the 2011 award, along with Daniel Sedin (Vancouver Canucks) and Corey Perry (Anaheim Ducks).

St. Louis is up for the award for the second time in his career and is the only Lightning player to ever win the trophy. He took home the hardware in 2004 after leading the league in points as the Lightning won the Stanley Cup. He finished the 2010-11 season ranked second in the league with 99 points. St. Louis set up his teammates throughout the season and earned himself a franchise record 68 assists. He led the team as alternate captain and helped them to the Eastern Conference Final.

Sedin’s brother, Henrik, won the award last year, giving the twins the opportunity to be the first pair of siblings to win the award in consecutive years. Perry was the only player to score 50 goals in 2010-11.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy
The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is given annually to the player who displays the best sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct as well as a high standard of playing ability. The trophy was first awarded in 1925 to Frank Nighbor of the Ottawa Senators.

St. Louis has been nominated for this award for the sixth time in his career. His opponents for the Lady Byng are Loui Eriksson of the Dallas Stars and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings.

This is the fifth consecutive year St. Louis has been nominated for the Lady Byng. He took home the trophy last season for the first time in his career after being the runner up in each of the previous three years. Having only accrued 12 penalty minutes this season, tying his career low for a full year, St. Louis continues to earn an annual nomination for the Lady Byng.

This is Lidstrom’s sixth nomination for the Lady Byng as well. If he won, he would be the first defenseman to win the award since 1954. This is Eriksson’s first nomination for the award after recording 73 points and just eight penalty minutes.

Ted Lindsay Award
The Ted Lindsay Award (formerly the Lester P. Pearson Award) has been presented since the 1970-71 season to the "most outstanding player" in the NHL as voted on by the NHL Players Association. Nominatees for the award in 2011 are Steven Stamkos of the Lightning, Perry and Daniel Sedin.

This is Stamkos’ first nomination for the award. He led the team, and was second in the league in goals with 45. In addition, Stamkos notched 91 points during the season which ranked fifth in the league and second on the team. He also scored a league-leading 17 power play goals as well as eight game-winners. Last year, Stamkos was the co-winner of the Maurice ‘Rocket’ Richard Trophy and he has score more goals than any other player since 2009.

Perry won the Richard Trophy this season with 50 goals, and helped his team immensely in their playoff run. Sedin secured the Art Ross Trophy for most points in the season with 104, and also helped his team capture the Presidents’ Trophy with the best record in the NHL.

NHL General Manager of the Year
The NHL General Manager of the Year Award was given out for the first time in 2010 to Don Maloney of the Phoenix Coyotes. The award is voted on by all 30 General Managers as well as five league executives and five members of the media. This is the first year the award will be given out during the NHL Awards ceremony.

In Yzerman’s first season as Tampa Bay’s general manager he led the team to the Eastern Conference Final. Shortly after taking over his role, Yzerman began steering the team into a new direction. He hired coach Guy Boucher and signed defenseman Pavel Kubina and acquired forward Simon Gagne. Throughout the season, Yzerman continued to build the team by adding Dwayne Roloson in net as well as signing defenseman Eric Brewer at the trade deadline.

Also nominated are Mike Gillis of the Vancouver Canucks and David Poile of the Nashville Predators. Gillis turned Vancouver into the top team in the NHL for the 2010-11 season with a 54-19-9 record and Poile is up for his second consecutive nomination.

This year’s awards show will be hosted by actor/comedian Jay Mohr. Performances will be made by country music star Dierks Bentley and hip hop/electro pop group Far East Movement. Fans can watch the ceremony from Las Vegas Wednesday at 7 p.m. ET on Versus.

View More