Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Lightning Forward Martin St. Louis Brings Home Lady Byng Trophy

by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning

Tampa Bay Lightning forward Martin St. Louis was awarded the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy tonight at the 2011 NHL Awards show at the Pearl Concert Theater inside the Palms Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.


Congrats Marty!

The Lady Byng Trophy is given annually to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability. This season marks St. Louis’ second consecutive year as the winner of the award.

A native of Laval, Quebec, St. Louis ranked second in the NHL in points with 99 and tied a franchise single-season record with a career-high 68 assists. He currently holds the NHL’s fourth-longest active consecutive games played streak, skating in 472 consecutive contests. More importantly, he helped lead the Lightning back to the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2007 after the club tied the single-season franchise record of 46 wins, while also amassing 103 points which were good for the second-highest total in franchise history.

Now entering his 13th NHL season, St. Louis brings home the award for the second consecutive year after he won for the first time in 2010. This year marked the sixth nomination of his career for the award, as he served as runner-up to Pavel Datsyuk of the Detroit Red Wings in 2009, 2008 and 2007. St. Louis was also nominated for the Lady Byng in 2004, when he finished third behind then-teammate Brad Richards. In 2010-11, St. Louis tied a career-low with 12 penalty minutes, taking a trip to the penalty box just six times throughout the 82-game regular season. Other finalists for this year’s award were Loui Eriksson of the Dallas Stars and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Red Wings.

Also at the event, St. Louis was nominated for the Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to the player most valuable to his team, while teammate Steven Stamkos represented the Bolts as a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award as the most outstanding player selected by the National Hockey League Players’ Association. Lightning vice president and general manager Steve Yzerman was also nominated for the award of NHL General Manager of the Year.

View More