Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning


by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning

TAMPA BAY – The Lightning’s Vincent Lecavalier, Martin St. Louis and Dan Boyle were named to the NHL’s Second All-Star Team Thursday night at the NHL Awards Show in Toronto. It is Lecavalier and Boyle’s first time being named to either First or Second All-Star Teams. St. Louis was named to the second team for the first time after previously being named to the first team in 2004.

Lecavalier, a center, won the Maurice Richards Trophy as the NHL’s top goal-scorer with 52. He was the first player in Lightning history to tally more than 50 goals in a season and he finished with a team-best 108 points. Lecavalier was also a finalist for the Lester B. Pearson Award, given to the league’s most valuable player as voted on by members of the player’s association. Right wing St. Louis scored 43 goals and recorded 102 points in 82 games this season and was a finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy, awarded to the player who displayed the most gentlemanly conduct. Defenseman Dan Boyle set a franchise record for goals in a season with 20 and recorded a career-high of 63 points which ranked second in franchise history. He was also second in the NHL in total ice time (2,218:07).

Left wing Thomas Vanek of the Buffalo Sabres joins Lecavalier and St. Louis on the Second All-Star Team. They are joined by Anaheim defenseman Chris Pronger, (third appearance on the Second Team to go with his one previous First Team selection) and Vancouver Canucks goaltender Roberto Luongo, named to the Second Team for the second time.

The first team was made up of Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby, Washington Capitals left wing Alex Ovechkin and Detroit Red Wings defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom, each of whom earned their first selections. Joining them are goaltender Martin Brodeur of the New Jersey Devils, a third-time recipient to go with his three career Second Team selections; the Ottawa Senators' Dany Heatley (right wing), voted to the First Team for the first time after receiving Second Team honors last season; and Anaheim Ducks defenseman Scott Niedermayer, a First Team member for the third consecutive campaign.

Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.
View More