Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Head Coach Rob Zettler and forward Brett Connolly named to AHL All-Star team

by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning

Syracuse, NY - The American Hockey League has selected Syracuse Crunch Head Coach Rob Zettler and right wing Brett Connolly to represent the AHL at the 2014 AHL All-Star Classic presented by Assante Wealth Management, to take place Feb. 11 and 12 at the Mile One Centre in St. John's, Newfoundland.

Zettler, alongside Jeff Blashill of the Grand Rapids Griffins, will coach a team of AHL All-Stars when they face off against Färjestad BK of the Swedish Hockey League in the two-day event, which will include the AHL All-Star Skills Competition on Feb. 11 and the AHL All-Star Game on Feb. 12. This is the second consecutive year the Crunch head coach has appeared at the AHL All-Star Classic after Jon Cooper appeared in 2013.

Connolly currently ranks third on the Crunch among active players in scoring with nine goals and 14 assists in the 24 games he appeared in this season. He has also appeared in 11 games with the Tampa Bay Lightning where he recorded one point (1g).

The 6-foot-2, 181-pound forward is currently on an eight-game point streak, the second longest active point streak in the AHL. During the eight-game span Connolly has recorded 16 points (7g, 9a). Over the past three games, the Prince George, BC native is averaging a point per period. He has also recorded the game-winning goal in the Crunch's last four victories. Connolly was selected in the 1st round, 6th overall, by the Tampa Bay Lightning in 2010 NHL Entry Draft.

In 20 seasons, Syracuse has now had 31 players selected to participate in the AHL All-Star Classic. Previous selections include Lonny Bohonos and Scott Walker (1994-95), Brian Loney (1995-96), Larry Courville and John Namestnikov (1996-97), Mark Wotton and Robert Dome (1997-98), Boris Protsenko and Valentin Morozov (1998-99), Harold Druken and Chris O'Sullivan (1999-00), Mike Gaul (2000-01), Derrick Walser and Duvie Westcott (2001-02), Karl Goehring (2002-03), Aaron Johnson (2003-04), Alexander Svitov (2004-05), Andy Delmore and Mark Hartigan (2005-06), Filip Novak (2006-07), Derick Brassard, Joakim Lindstrom and Clay Wilson (2007-08), Nikita Filatov and Derek MacKenzie (2008-09), Dan Fritsche (2009-10), Kyle Palmieri (2010-11 & 2011-12) and Mark Barberio, Tyler Johnson, Radko Gudas and Richard Panik (2012-13).

View More