Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Art Ross Trophy race: Malkin, Stamkos, Giroux

by Staff Writer / Tampa Bay Lightning
The NHL awards the Art Ross Trophy annually "to the player who leads the League in scoring points at the end of the regular season." During a 21-year stretch from 1981-2001, the award was dominated by Wayne Gretzky (10-time winner), Mario Lemieux (6) and Jaromir Jagr (5), one of whom captured it each season. No player has won the Art Ross more than once since, but Evgeni Malkin of the Penguins, who claimed it in 2009, has the opportunity to change that -- he's locked in a three-way battle with Claude Giroux of the Philadelphia Flyers and Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning heading down the stretch.


Evgeni Malkin (PIT) 69 46 53 99
Steven Stamkos (TBL) 76 55 35 90
Claude Giroux (PHI) 72 27 59 86
Here's an up-to-date look at the race:

Evgeni Malkin (99 points) -- The Penguins' star had  a pair of assists on Tuesday, but it wasn't enough as the New York Islanders ended a 13-game losing streak in Pittsburgh with a 5-3 victory. Malkin and the Penguins will get a chance to avenge the loss when they visit the Nassau Coliseum on Thursday night.

Steven Stamkos (90 points) -- Stamkos continues to put more pucks in the net than anyone else. One night after breaking the franchise single-season record with his 53rd goal, he adds Nos. 54 and 55 on Tuesday, though it wasn't enough to carry the Lightning to their second win in two nights -- Tampa Bay lost 4-2 in Boston. The Lightning visit New Jersey on Thursday.

Claude Giroux (86 points) -- Giroux fired six shots on goal Monday night, but was held without a point in Philadelphia's 5-3 loss to Tampa Bay. The Flyers don't play again until they visit Toronto on Thursday.

View More