Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

Monarchs Announce Home Opener

by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings

MANCHESTER, NH - The Manchester Monarchs, the primary affiliate of the Los Angeles Kings, will open their 2009-10 home schedule on Saturday, Oct. 17 at the Verizon Wireless Arena.  In addition, Manchester is scheduled to continue with their traditional New Year’s Eve game on Thursday, Dec. 31.  The entire 2009-10 Monarchs schedule including their opponents will be announced later this summer.

The Monarchs are scheduled to play 62 intra-division games during the 2009-10 season and are slated to play every team in the Eastern Conference including the first contest in franchise history with the Syracuse Crunch.  With the additions of the Abbotsford Heat and the Texas Stars as well as the move of the Phantoms from Philadelphia to Adirondack, the Bridgeport Sound Tigers have moved into the Atlantic Division and the Crunch has moved from the Western Conference to the Eastern Conference.

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division:  Bridgeport Sound Tigers, Hartford Wolf Pack, Lowell Devils, Manchester Monarchs, Portland Pirates, Providence Bruins, Springfield Falcons and the Worcester Sharks.

East Division:  Adirondack Phantoms, Albany River Rats, Binghamton Senators, Hershey Bears, Norfolk Admirals, Syracuse Crunch and the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins.

Western Conference

North Division:  Abbotsford Heat, Grand Rapids Griffins, Hamilton Bulldogs, Lake Erie Monsters, Manitoba Moose, Rochester Americans and the Toronto Marlies.

West Division:  Chicago Wolves, Houston Aeros, Milwaukee Admirals, Peoria Rivermen, Rockford IceHogs, San Antonio Rampage and the Texas Stars.

Like the rest of the 29-team AHL, the Monarchs will play an unbalanced 80-game schedule consisting of 40 home games and 40 road games.  The Monarchs will face their division rivals Lowell, Portland and Providence 10 times (five home and five road games) and Bridgeport, Hartford, Springfield and Worcester eight times (four home and four road games).  In the East Division, the Monarchs will play Albany and Norfolk four times (two home and two road games) and Adirondack, Binghamton, Hershey, Syracuse and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton twice (one home and one road game).

View More