Skip to main content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News

Kings Prospect Muzzin Named OHL's Best Defenseman

by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings
Jake Muzzin
Soo Greyhounds captain Jacob Muzzin was named the OHL’s Top Defenseman earlier this afternoon - receiving the Max Kaminsky Trophy. Muzzin, who just completed his 4th and final season with the Hounds was originally selected in the 1st round of the 2005 OHL Priority Selection.

In 230 career regular season games played, the Woodstock, ONTARIO native had 28 goals and 90 assists for 118 points. In 2009/2010, Jake had a career season while leading the Hounds reagular season scoring with 67 points

Muzzin becomes only the 2nd Greyhound to have ever won such award, dating back to the 1976-77 season when former Head Coach Craig Hartsburg was the winner.

Other finalists included:
  • Nick Crawford, Barrie Colts
  • Shawn Lalonde, Belleville Bulls
  • Steven Tarasuk, London Knights
  • Cameron Gaunce, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
  • Ryan Ellis, Windsor Spitfires
The Max Kaminsky Trophy is voted on by the member teams of the Ontario Hockey League. In a first round of balloting, teams vote for the top defencemen, within their own conference. The top three nominees from both the Eastern and Western conferences are declared as finalists. A second round of voting is then conducted on a league wide basis where teams vote for any of the six finalists. At no time during the voting can a team vote for their own candidate. Defencemen receive five points for a first place vote, three points for a second place vote and one point for a third place vote.

The Max Kaminsky Trophy is awarded annually to the Most Outstanding Defenceman as selected by League general managers. Prior to 1969, the Kaminsky Trophy was awarded to the Most Gentlemanly Player. The award is in recognition of Kaminsky, who enjoyed a 10-year professional playing career that included four years in the NHL with Ottawa, Boston and Montreal. After he retired from playing, Kaminsky enjoyed a 15-year coaching career that was capped by winning the Memorial Cup with the St. Catharines Teepees in 1960. Last season, Ryan Ellis of the Windsor Spitfires won the award, with current NHL star Drew Doughty of the Los Angeles Kings winning the award as a member of the Guelph Storm in 2007-08.
View More