Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the LA Kings

Kings News


by Staff Writer / Los Angeles Kings
NEW YORK – Nicklas Lidstrom and Henrik Zetterberg of the Detroit Red Wings lead all Western Conference vote-getters in the XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports. Lidstrom's 80,903 votes top the West, followed by Zetterberg with 58,074. Closing in for the third top spot is Calgary Flames defenseman Dion Phaneuf with 56,664 votes. The all-digital voting program, launched just Nov. 13, already has resulted in more than 2.15 million votes being cast.

Among Kings players, Mike Cammalleri ranks fifth amongst forwards with 32,650 votes, followed by Anze Kopitar, 15th with 13,203 while Rob Blake is fourth amongst defensemen (30,393) followed by Lubomir Visnovsky, with 12,479, which ranks 11th. 

The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27 in Atlanta (6 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio). Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

Zetterberg, Calgary Flames right wing Jarome Iginla (42,552) and Red Wings center Pavel Datsyuk (39,041) lead all forwards in votes. Lidstrom and Phaneuf are the front-runners among defensemen. Pascal Leclaire of the Columbus Blue Jackets tops all Western Conference goaltenders with 37,574 votes.

Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to "Vote Now, Vote Often" for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game. U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones.

On, the XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section features an interactive ballot, showcasing players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8 footage. Residents of the United States and Canada who vote are able to register for a chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC radios with three months of free service, 2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates.

One grand-prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, courtesy of XM. The winner will watch the game in a private suite with former NHL players. Additionally, each registered voter will automatically qualify to receive a 14-day free trial of XM Radio Online.

Verizon Wireless customers can vote and can register for the sweepstakes by voting using their Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones. The process is simple: launch the Mobile Web browser, select Sports, select NHL Mobile and then select All-Star Balloting. To vote, follow the instructions on the screen.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe. NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive, national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and

XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports
Western Conference (as of 11/19/07)

Player - NHL Club - Votes
Henrik Zetterberg Detroit 58,074
Jarome Iginla Calgary 42,552
Pavel Datsyuk Detroit 39,041
Joe Sakic Colorado 33,307
Mike Cammalleri Los Angeles 32,650
Joe Thornton San Jose 28,117
Paul Stastny Colorado 25,408
Jonathan Cheechoo San Jose 23,802
Ryan Getzlaf Anaheim 20,546
Marian Gaborik Minnesota 20,539
Rick Nash Columbus 20,508
Jason Arnott Nashville 19,015
Mike Modano Dallas 17,753
Paul Kariya St. Louis 13,994
Anze Kopitar Los Angeles 13,203
Ales Hemsky Edmonton 11,122
Shane Doan Phoenix 10,787
Ryan Smyth Colorado 10,634
Martin Havlat Chicago 8,948
Milan Hejduk Colorado 8,832
Andy McDonald Anaheim 6,965
Brian Rolston Minnesota 6,774
Patrick Marleau San Jose 6,289
Daymond Langkow Calgary 6,175
Keith Tkachuk St. Louis 5,801
Markus Naslund Vancouver 5,796
Henrik Sedin Vancouver 5,075
*Patrick Kane Chicago 4,019
Daniel Sedin Vancouver 3,699
Brenden Morrow Dallas 3,568
David Legwand Nashville 2,279

Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit 80,903
Dion Phaneuf Calgary 56,664
Chris Pronger Anaheim 41,046
Rob Blake Los Angeles 30,393
Francois Beauchemin Anaheim 22,954
Brian Rafalski Detroit 22,054
Sheldon Souray Edmonton 18,018
Scott Hannan Colorado 17,741
Sergei Zubov Dallas 16,082
Ed Jovanovski Phoenix 14,249
Lubomir Visnovsky, Los Angeles 12,479
Mattias Ohlund Vancouver 11,840
Robyn Regehr Calgary 7,382

Pascal Leclaire Columbus 37,574
Roberto Luongo Vancouver 34,050
Dominik Hasek Detroit 21,062
Niklas Backstrom Minnesota 19,756
Jean-Sebastien Giguere Anaheim 18,325
Miikka Kiprusoff Calgary 17,026
Evgeni Nabokov San Jose 11,246
Nikolai Khabibulin Chicago 8,592
Marty Turco Dallas 8,400
*write-in candidate

View More