Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders


by Staff Writer / New York Islanders
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - USA Hockey announced today the first 12 players -- all from the National Hockey League -- that will compete for the 2010 U.S. Men's National Team at the International Ice Hockey Federation World Men's Championship, May 7-23, in Cologne, Gelsenkirchen and Mannheim, Germany.

Highlighting the roster are two members of the 2009 U.S. Men's National Team -- goaltender Scott Clemmensen (Des Moines, Iowa/Florida Panthers/Boston College) and forward Kyle Okposo (St. Paul, Minn./New York Islanders/Univ. of Minnesota) -- that helped lead Team USA to a fourth-place finish at last year's IIHF World Men's Championship. Okposo was also a member of two U.S. National Junior Teams (2007, 2008), capturing the bronze medal in 2007.

Three other members of Team USA have experience at various IIHF World Championships, including defenseman Taylor Chorney (Hastings, Minn./Edmonton Oilers/Univ. of North Dakota), who was a two-time member of the U.S. National Junior Team (2006, 2007) and member of the gold medal-winning 2005 U.S. Men's National Under-18 Team. Other Team USA veterans include Eric Nystrom (Syosset, N.Y./Calgary Flames/Univ. of Michigan), who played on two U.S. National Junior Teams (2002, 2003) and the 2001 U.S. Men's National Under-18 Team; and 2008 U.S. Men's National Team member Brandon Dubinsky (Anchorage, Alaska/New York Rangers).

In addition, seven players will be making their Team USA debut with the 2010 U.S. Men's National Team, including defensemen Matt Gilroy (North Bellmore, N.Y./New York Rangers/Boston Univ.), Jack Hillen (Minnetonka, Minn./New York Islanders/Colorado College) and Mike Lundin (Burnsville, Minn./Tampa Bay Lightning/Univ. of Maine); and forwards Ryan Carter (White Bear Lake, Minn./Anaheim Ducks/Minnesota State Univ.), Christian Hanson (Venetia, Pa./Toronto Maple Leafs/Univ. of Notre Dame), David Moss (Livonia, Mich./Calgary Flames/Univ. of Michigan) and Ryan Potulny (Grand Forks, N.D./Edmonton Oilers/Univ. of Minnesota).

NOTES: Eric Nystrom played for USA Hockey's National Team Development Program from 1999-2001 ... Eleven of the 12 members of Team USA announced today played U.S. college hockey ... The average age of the 12 players is 25.4 ... The U.S. Men's National Team's fourth-place finish at the 2009 IIHF World Men's Championship was Team USA's best finish at an IIHF World Men's Championship since capturing the bronze medal in 2004 ... All teams in the 2010 IIHF World Men's Championship may begin the tournament with 20 skaters and three goaltenders, and can add two players after the first three games ... Scott Gordon, head coach of the NHL's New York Islanders, is the head coach of the 2010 U.S. Men's National Team, with Todd Richards, head coach of the NHL's Minnesota Wild, and Ron Rolston, one of two head coaches at USA Hockey's National Team Development Program, serving as assistant coaches ... The 2010 U.S. Men’s National Team is under the direction of Brian Burke, general manager; David Poile, associate general manager; and Jim Johannson, assistant executive director for hockey operations at USA Hockey. The U.S. Men's National Advisory Group, which also includes NHL front-office personnel Paul Holmgren (Philadelphia Flyers), Dean Lombardi (Los Angeles Kings), Ray Shero (Pittsburgh Penguins) and Don Waddell (Atlanta Thrashers), is charged with leading the selection of players for the U.S. Men's National Team ... Team USA opens the 2010 IIHF World Men's Championship against host Germany on May 7. The game will be played at Gelsenkirchen's VELTINS-Arena, home of the German soccer league's FC Schalke. The contest is expected to be played in front of a world record crowd of more than 76,000 spectators ... USA Hockey's international council, chaired by Tony Rossi, vice president of USA Hockey, has oversight responsibilities for all U.S. national teams. Team USA 2010 IIHF World Men's Championship Schedule

Courtesy of USA Hockey
View More