Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Martin Wins Fifth Bob Nystrom Award

by Cory Wright / New York Islanders

Bobby Nystrom
made a quip when he handed Matt Martin his trophy before Sunday’s game.

“What is this, the 16th year in a row?”

Not quite 16, but for the fifth straight year, Martin took home the Bob Nystrom Award, given annually to the Islanders player that exemplifies leadership, hustle and dedication.

“I just want to thank the fans,” Martin said. “There are a lot of guys that could have won this award. It’s a huge honor and I appreciate the support from the fans.”

Martin has had a lock on the award, winning every year since 2011-12. Frans Nielsen (2010-11) was the last Islander to win the award before Martin.

The Islanders’ forward is known for his physicality, leading the NHL with 365 hits, but is also having a career-year offensively, with 18 points (9G, 9A).

View More