Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

GAME PREVIEW: Bridgeport at Wilkes-Barre/Scranton

by Staff Writer / New York Islanders
7:05 PM, Webcast @

By Corey Witt

The season starts all over again tonight for the Bridgeport Sound Tigers. With 80 regular season games in the rearview mirror, the Sound Tigers and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins kickoff their first round playoff series at the Wachovia Arena at Casey Plaza at 7:05 pm. For those unfamiliar with the AHL playoffs, the opening round is the East Division Semifinal best-of-seven series.
Aside from the ten players the Sound Tigers received back from the Islanders yesterday, they also welcomed back center Luch Aquino, the Islanders seventh round pick in the 2005 draft. Also joining the squad is the Islanders' second round pick in the 2004 draft, right wing Blake Comeau. Both players are coming off outstanding junior seasons and will boost the Sound Tigers' roster even more.
But Bridgeport isn't the only team in this series to add power to their lineup. Wilkes-Barre/Scranton received goalie Marc-Andre Fleury and defensemen Ryan Whitney and Noah Welch from the Pittsburgh Penguins.
This season, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton claimed its first regular-season division championship by finishing atop the East with 113 points and a 51-18-5-6 record, including a mark of 28-8-2-2 at home. The Baby Pens also have the AHL's most outstanding goaltender in Dany Sabourin, giving them an effective one-two punch in goal.
As a reminder, all Sound Tigers games are web-cast live at Fans can also watch all AHL games live on the Internet via the B2 Networks pay per view. For more information on the B2 Network, visit
Along with, will bring you period-by-period updates and a complete post-game story for tonight's game.
For those scoring at home tonight, here's Bridgeport's current playoff roster:
#          Pos.            Name
3          D            Denis Grebeshkov      
4          D            Dustin Kohn    
5          D/F         Paul Flache 
6          D            Jody Robinson          
8          D/F         Cole Jarrett  
9          LW          Jeff Tambellini         
10         LW/RW   Sean Bergenheim      
11         C            Robert Nilsson
12         D            Bruno Gervais
13         C            Luch Aquino
14         RW         Blake Comeau           
15         LW          Masi Marjamaki        
17         LW          Justin Papineau          
18         RW/C      Jeff Hamilton                                              
19         RW/C     Rob Collins                         
20         C            Ryan O'Marra                        
21         D            Ryan Caldwell                                   
23         C            Jeremy Colliton                        
24         C            Matt Koalska                                   
25         D            Tomi Pettinen                                               
26         D            Allan Rourke                                     
36         LW          Chris Thompson                                
39         LW          Steve Regier                                      
41         D            Harlan Pratt                                        
43         C            Peter Tsimikalis                                 
58         LW/RW    David Masse 

#          Pos.            Name   
29         G            Frederic Cloutier
31         G            Wade Dubielewicz      

View More