Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

Winners of the 2015-16 Flyers Team Awards

by Staff Writer / Philadelphia Flyers

The Philadelphia Flyers presented their 2015-16 end-of-season awards Thursday night before the start of their game against the Toronto Maple Leafs at the Wells Fargo Center.

Bobby Clarke Trophy (Most Valuable Player) - Claude Giroux

Claude Giroux won his fourth Bobby Clarke Trophy as the team’s most valuable player, as voted by a panel of sportswriters and sportscasters. He previously won the award in 2010-11, 2011-12 and 2013-14, and becomes the second player in franchise history to win the award four times, joining Eric Lindros. Giroux leads the Flyers in scoring with 22 goals and 44 assists for 66 points in 76 games. He has been has been nearly a point-per-game player over the last 38 games beginning with the January 7 contest at Minnesota. In that time, he has 10 goals and 27 assists for 37 points. Giroux has more points over the past five seasons than any other NHL player (116-250-366).

Barry Ashbee Trophy (Outstanding Defenseman) - Shayne Gostisbehere

Shayne Gostisbehere received the Barry Ashbee Trophy as the team’s outstanding defenseman, as voted by a panel of sportswriters and sportscasters. Gostisbehere becomes the 22nd different Flyer to be honored with the award, and the first rookie since Norm Barnes in 1979-80.Gostisbehere has 16 goals and 27 assists for 43 points on the season. The 16 goals are a franchise record for a rookie defenseman; he is currently seven points short of the franchise scoring record for a rookie defenseman, established by Behn Wilson in 1978-79 (13-36-49). Each of Gostisbehere’s 16 goals has either tied a game, given the Flyers a lead, or has been the GWG. Gostisbehere had a 15-game scoring streak from Jan. 19 to Feb. 20 that set three records – two Flyers records and an NHL record. Only Eric Lindros, Bob Clarke and Brian Propp have had streaks longer than Gostisbehere’s in franchise history.
Gostisbehere is the youngest Flyer ever to win the Barry Ashbee Trophy, doing so two weeks before his 23rd birthday. The previous youngest winner was current Flyers assistant coach Gord Murphy, who was a few weeks past his 23rd birthday when he won the award in 1990.

Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy (Most Improved Players) - Brayden Schenn

Brayden Schenn was selected by his teammates as the Flyers’ most improved player from the previous season. Schenn has established new career highs of 25 goals and 31 assists through 77 games, good for 56 points. He has 18 of the 25 goals and 41 of the 56 points over the course of 43 games since January 1.

Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award - Wayne Simmonds

The Philadelphia chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA) selected Wayne Simmonds as this year’s recipient of the Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award. This award is presented annually to the Flyer who best illustrates character, dignity and respect for the sport both on and off the ice. The award honors the memory of Yanick Dupre, who died on August 16, 1997 at the age of 24 after a 16-month battle with leukemia. Dupre played parts of three seasons with the Flyers (1991-92, 1994-95 and 1995-96), recording two goals and 16 penalty minutes in 35 games. He was originally drafted by the Flyers in the third round (50th overall) of the 1991 NHL Entry Draft.

Gene Hart Memorial Award - Shayne Gostisbehere

The Philadelphia Flyers Fan Club selected Shayne Gostisbehere as the winner of the Gene Hart Memorial Award. This award is given to the player who demonstrated the most “Heart” during the season as voted on by members of the Fan Club at their monthly meetings. The award honors the memory of longtime Flyers broadcaster Gene Hart. For 28 years, Hart called the organization’s most thrilling moments, and in the process, helped spawn generations of devoted fans. Hart’s contributions to the sport were recognized with his induction into the Flyers Hall of Fame in 1992 and the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1997. The Flyers Fan Club will also donate $2,000 to the charity of Gostisbehere’s choice.

Toyota Cup - Claude Giroux

Claude Giroux has won his fourth consecutive Toyota Cup as the Flyer who accumulated the most points associated with being selected as a “Star of the Game.” Five points were awarded for being selected First Star, three points were awarded for a Second Star performance and one point was awarded for a Third Star selection. Giroux was named first star five times this year, second star eight times, and third star once for a total of 50 points. Toyota will make a $5,000 donation on Giroux’s behalf to the Ed Snider Youth Hockey Foundation.

The Flyers conclude their 2015-16 home schedule on Saturday vs. Pittsburgh and then wrap up the regular season on Sunday at the New York Islanders.

View More