Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

Penn State-Vermont to battle for second straight year

by Staff Writer / Philadelphia Flyers

Based on the success of the inaugural Philadelphia College Hockey Faceoff (January 19, 2013), the University of Vermont and Penn State University will meet once again at the Wells Fargo Center on Saturday, October 26 at 5 p.m. Tickets are now on sale exclusively through ComcastTIX on line at, by phone at 1-800-298-4200 or in person at Wells Fargo Center box office.

The Nittany Lions won last year’s inaugural Faceoff event by a 4-2 score, doing so on the strength of goals from four different players and a 34-save performance from goaltender Matthew Skoff. The game was played before a crowd of 19,529, the highest attendance ever at a college hockey game in the state of Pennsylvania.

Penn State will be entering its second year as an NCAA Division I ice hockey program and its first year in the new Big Ten Hockey Conference. The Nittany Lions went 13-14 last season, including wins over Big Ten powerhouses Ohio State, Michigan State and Wisconsin. Head coach Guy Gadowsky recently announced that forward Tommy Olczyk will serve as captain for the third straight year when the Nittany Lions open the brand-new Pegula Ice Arena this fall.

Vermont finished the 2012-13 season with a record of 11-19-6, a five-win improvement from the previous season, and will be looking to continue that improvement with a team that will graduate just five seniors. The Catamounts will be celebrating the 50th anniversary of their hockey program this fall.

The game will serve as a preview for the 2014 Men’s NCAA Frozen Four, which will take place at the Wells Fargo Center on April 10 and 12, 2014. It will be another in a long line of premier NCAA events hosted by the facility, which in the past has also hosted the 2011 NCAA Wrestling Championships, the 2000 NCAA Women's (Basketball) Final Four and the 2001 NCAA Men's (Basketball) East Regionals. This past spring, the Wells Fargo Center served as a Second and Third Round host for the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament for the third time in seven years.

View More