Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

Giroux's flying one-timer wins 2016-17 Best Highlight

Captain's earns the fan vote for best highlight in wild win over Oilers

by @NHLFlyers


The fans have spoken and the final votes are in with Claude Giroux taking home the Best Highlight for the 2016-17 Flyers Awards, beating out five other highlights in the process.

Giroux's first goal of a wild, back-and-forth contest against Edmonton on Dec. 8 unfolded after a great play by Jakub Voracek to intercept a pass out of the zone. Voracek found the Flyers captain along the left face off circle where he quickly turned his body and fired home a one-timer in mid-air. The tally gave the Flyers a 3-2 lead and capped off a three-goal frenzy in an 1:12 span after trailing the Oilers 0-2.

Giroux would eventually add another tally, the game-tying goal to make it 5-5, as the club mounted a comeback in the third period as well to defeat the Oilers 6-5 at the Wells Fargo Center. 

The highlight now joins the list of former champions: Simon Gagne (2012-13), Claude Giroux (2013-14), Steve Mason (2014-15) and Shayne Gostisbehere (2015-16) as a Flyers Highlight of the Year Champion.

Have another look at 'Flying One-Timer' below:

Video: EDM@PHI: Giroux leaves his feet, pots one-timer blast

With one tournament ending, another begins - check back next week as the next 2016-17 Flyers Awards gets underway with Best Photo.


View More