Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

Forsberg Wins Yanick Dupre Memorial Class Guy Award

by Staff Writer / Philadelphia Flyers

The Philadelphia chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association (P.H.W.A.) announced that they have selected Peter Forsberg as this season's Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award winner. This award is presented annually to the Flyer who best illustrates character, dignity and respect for the sport both on and off the ice by the Philadelphia chapter of the P.H.W.A., starting in 1999. Prior to 1999, it was awarded annually to the player who best exemplifies a strong rapport with the media by the Philadelphia chapter of the P.H.W.A.

The award honors the memory of Yanick Dupre, who died on August 16, 1997, at the age of 24 after a 16-month battle with leukemia. Dupre played parts of three seasons with the Flyers (1991-92, 1994-95 and 1995-96), recording two goals and 16 penalty minutes in 35 games. He was originally drafted by the Flyers in the third round (50th overall) of the 1991 NHL Entry Draft.

The award was presented to Forsberg prior to Saturday's Flyers-New York Rangers game at the Wachovia Center by Anthony SanFilippo of the Delaware County Daily Times.
View More