Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

Flyers hand out 2016-17 Team Awards

Team MVP, Outstanding Defenseman and more trophies awarded

by Philadelphia Flyers @NHLFlyers

The Philadelphia Flyers presented their 2016-17 end-of-season awards on Saturday before the start of their game against the Columbus Blue Jackets at the Wells Fargo Center.
Bobby Clarke Trophy (Most Valuable Player) - Wayne Simmonds
Wayne Simmonds won his first Bobby Clarke Trophy as the team's most valuable player, as voted by a panel of sportswriters and sportscasters. Simmonds entered Saturday's game with 30 goals and 22 assists for 52 points, marking the second consecutive season he's reached the 30-goal plateau. Simmonds started the season with points in 10 of the Flyers' first 11 games, which included a four-game goal scoring streak, and his season has included four two-goal games, four game-winning goals and the first two shorthanded goals of his career. Simmonds made his first career appearance at the NHL All-Star game this season and was named the MVP of the event after scoring three goals, including the game-winner in the final against the Pacific Division. He was named the NHL's First Star of the Week the day after the event, combining his All-Star performance with two goals scored for the Flyers in the week leading up to the All-Star break. Simmonds currently has 16 power play goals, just one off the league lead, and is fourth in the league with 122 PIM.Video: Wayne Simmonds wins the Team MVP Award

Barry Ashbee Trophy (Outstanding Defenseman) - Ivan Provorov
Ivan Provorov received the Barry Ashbee Trophy as the team's outstanding defenseman, as voted by a panel of sportswriters and sportscasters. Provorov becomes the youngest Ashbee winner in franchise history, eclipsing last year's winner, Shayne Gostisbehere. It's the second consecutive year that a rookie has received the award. Provorov enters the game averaging 21:56 of ice time per game, which is second among all NHL rookies this season and will establish a new Flyers franchise record for a rookie dating back to when the statistic started being kept in 1998. Among his 18 games of 24 or more minutes this season have been the two highest single-game TOI for a Flyers rookie in a regulation game - he played 27:17 on March 15 vs. Pittsburgh and played 26:27 on March 30 vs. the NY Islanders. Provorov has contributed six goals and 22 assists this season and has appeared in 80 games, more than any rookie since Jeff Carter appeared in 81 games in 2005-06.Video: Ivan Provorov wins the Barry Ashbee Trophy

Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy (Most Improved Player) - Radko Gudas
Radko Gudas was selected by his teammates as the Flyers' most improved player from the previous season. Gudas recorded six goals and 17 assists for 23 points this season, an improvement of nine points from a year ago in nine fewer games, while reducing his penalty minutes from 116 to 93 and his giveaways from 57 to 40. He has also increased his average hits per game from 4.00 one year ago to 4.18 this year. Gudas also saw his even-strength ice time increase from 16:58 per game last year to 17:19 this year.Video: Radko Gudas accepts the Pelle Lindbergh Award
Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award - Steve Mason
The Philadelphia chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association (PHWA) selected Steve Mason as this year's recipient of the Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award. This award is presented annually to the Flyer who best illustrates character, dignity and respect for the sport both on and off the ice. The award honors the memory of Yanick Dupre, who died on August 16, 1997 at the age of 24 after a 16-month battle with leukemia. Dupre played parts of three seasons with the Flyers (1991-92, 1994-95 and 1995-96), recording two goals and 16 penalty minutes in 35 games. He was originally drafted by the Flyers in the third round (50th overall) of the 1991 NHL Entry Draft.Video: Mason accepts the Yanick Dupre Award
Gene Hart Memorial Award - Pierre-Edouard Bellemare
The Philadelphia Flyers Fan Club selected Pierre-Edouard Bellemare as the winner of the Gene Hart Memorial Award. This award is given to the player who demonstrated the most "Heart" during the season as voted on by members of the Fan Club at their monthly meetings. The award honors the memory of longtime Flyers broadcaster Gene Hart. For 28 years, Hart called the organization's most thrilling moments, and in the process, helped spawn generations of devoted fans. Hart's contributions to the sport were recognized with his induction into the Flyers Hall of Fame in 1992 and the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1997. The Flyers Fan Club will also donate $2,000 to the charity of Bellemare's choice.Video: Bellemare accepts the 16-17 Gene Hart Award
Toyota Cup - Wayne Simmonds
Wayne Simmonds won his first Toyota Cup as the Flyer who accumulated the most points associated with being selected as a "Star of the Game." Five points were awarded for being selected First Star, three points were awarded for a Second Star performance and one point was awarded for a Third Star selection. Simmonds was named first star five times this year, second star six times, and third star three times for a total of 46 points. Toyota will make a $5,000 donation on behalf of Simmonds to a charity of his choosing.Video: Simmonds accepts the Toyota Cup
Secure next season now! Flyers 2017-18 season ticket memberships are available by calling 215.218.PUCK or

View More