Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

2018-19 Flyers Awards Winners

by @NHLFlyers

The Philadelphia Flyers presented their 2018-19 end-of-season awards on Saturday prior to their game against the Carolina Hurricanes at the Wells Fargo Center.


Bobby Clarke Trophy (Most Valuable Player) - Sean Couturier

One year after winning the Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy as the team's most improved player, Sean Couturier took another step in earning the first Bobby Clarke Trophy of his career. Couturier comes into tonight's game one point shy of his career high of 76 set last season and two short of his career-high 43 assists set last year. His 32 goals are already a career high. Couturier has 44 pts (17G, 27A) in his last 38 GP since January 9, which was ninth in the league since that timeframe. He is a plus-4 this season, leaving him in position for a sixth consecutive positive plus-minus season, and is seventh in the NHL among players that have taken 700 or more faceoffs with a 56.7 percent success rate.


Barry Ashbee Trophy (Outstanding Defenseman) - Radko Gudas

Radko Gudas received his first Barry Ashbee Trophy as the team's outstanding defenseman, as voted by a panel of sportswriters and sportscasters. Gudas has four goals and 16 assists for 20 points in 76 games this season and is a plus-8. He has 255 hits on the year, one off the league lead for defensemen, and has also blocked 130 shots.


Pelle Lindbergh Memorial Trophy (Most Improved Player) - Travis Sanheim

Travis Sanheim was selected by his teammates as the Flyers' most improved player from the previous season. Sanheim has appeared in all 81 games to this point and has enjoyed a breakout season from his 49-game rookie campaign, more than tripling his offensive output (2-8-10 to 9-25-34) while seeing his ice time jump from 15:35 per game to 19:34. Despite the increase in playing time, Sanheim has only two more penalty minutes than he did last season.


Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award - Andrew MacDonald

The Philadelphia chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association (PHWA) selected Andrew MacDonald as this year's recipient of the Yanick Dupre Class Guy Memorial Award. This award is presented annually to the Flyer who best illustrates character, dignity and respect for the sport both on and off the ice. The award honors the memory of Yanick Dupre, who died on August 16, 1997 at the age of 24 after a 16-month battle with leukemia. Dupre played parts of three seasons with the Flyers (1991-92, 1994-95 and 1995-96), recording two goals and 16 penalty minutes in 35 games. He was originally drafted by the Flyers in the third round (50th overall) of the 1991 NHL Entry Draft.


Gene Hart Memorial Award - Sean Couturier

The Philadelphia Flyers Fan Club selected Sean Couturier as the winner of the Gene Hart Memorial Award for the second consecutive season. This award is given to the player who demonstrated the most "Heart" during the season as voted on by members of the Fan Club at their monthly meetings. The award honors the memory of longtime Flyers broadcaster Gene Hart. For 28 years, Hart called the organization's most thrilling moments, and in the process, helped spawn generations of devoted fans. Hart's contributions to the sport were recognized with his induction into the Flyers Hall of Fame in 1992 and the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1997. The Flyers Fan Club will also donate $1,000 to the charity of Couturier's choice.


Toyota Cup - Carter Hart

Carter Hart won the Toyota Cup for the first time as the Flyer who accumulated the most points associated with being selected as a "Star of the Game." Five points were awarded for being selected First Star, three points were awarded for a Second Star performance and one point was awarded for a Third Star selection. Since making his NHL debut on December 18, Hart needed just 30 games to be named first star eight times, second star once and third star three times to collect 46 points, just edging out Claude Giroux's 43. He becomes just the third goaltender to win the award since its inception in 2000-01, and the first since Martin Biron in 2007-08. Toyota will make a $5,000 donation to a charity of Hart's choosing.

View More