Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Toronto & Montreal to co-host WJC in 2015 & 2017

by Torie Peterson / Calgary Flames

CALGARY, AB -- On Thursday, Hockey Canada announced Toronto and Montreal will co-host the 2015 and 2017 IIHF World Junior Championships.

The cities will split the preliminary rounds in both years. Toronto will host the medal rounds in 2015 while Montreal will host them in 2017. Canada’s National Junior Team will be based in Montreal for the round robin in 2015 and in Toronto in 2017.

"This is an exciting day for hockey fans in the provinces of Quebec and Ontario as well as throughout Canada," Hockey Canada president and CEO Bob Nicholson said in a press release. "These two cities have a proud hockey tradition and have shown interest in this event for many years. We look forward to welcoming the hockey world in Montreal and Toronto."

Past Canadian host cities include Calgary and Edmonton, AB (2012); Regina and Saskatoon, SK (2010); Ottawa, ON (2009); Vancouver, Kamloops and Kelowna, BC (2006); Halifax and Sydney, NS (2003); Winnipeg, MN (1999); Red Deer, AB (1995); Saskatoon, SK (1991); Hamilton, ON (1986) and Montreal, QB (1978).

The tournament will also be hosted in Canada in 2019 and 2021 as a part of an agreement that Hockey Canada worked out with the IIHF and was approved at the IIHF's congress in 2009.

View More