Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Iginla, Phaneuf capture all-star honours

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames
They might not have won the big prizes but Calgary Flames Jarome Iginla and Dion Phaneuf didn't come home from the NHL Awards empty-handed.

Both Iginla, who was nominated for the Hart Trophy, and Phaneuf, who was nominated for the Norris Trophy, were named to the NHL First All-Star team.

Iginla, nominated for his third Hart Trophy as league MVP, lost that honour, as expected, to Washington's Alexander Ovechkin.

Iginla actually finished third in the voting behind Ovechkin and Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins, although the voting points were close between second and third. Ovechkin had 1313 points, Malkin 659 and Iginla 565.

Phaneuf, nominated for the Norris Trophy as top defenceman for the first time, lost the honour to Detroit's Niklas Lidstrom, again, as expected.

Phaneuf finished second in Norris voting with 561 points. Lidstrom had 1313 and Boston's Zdeno Chara, who was third, had 486 points.

Both Lidstrom and Ovechkin were also neamed to the all-star team.

Lidstrom earned his ninth career berth on the First Team, the most among active defensemen and third all-time, moving past Bobby Orr (eight). Ray Bourque is the all-time leader with 13, followed by Doug Harvey's 10.

Ovechkin has earned First Team honors in each of his first three full NHL seasons and the first player to do so since Detroit Red Wings goaltender Terry Sawchuk from 1950-51 through 1952-53.

Iginla earned his second career First Team berth.

There were three first time selections to the all-star team: Phaneuf;  Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins and goaltender Evgeni Nabokov of the San Jose Sharks.

The Second Team features three players who are making their debuts on an NHL All-Star Team: defenseman Brian Campbell of the San Jose Sharks, right wing Alex Kovalev of the Montreal Canadiens and left wing Henrik Zetterberg of the Red Wings.

They are joined by New Jersey Devils goaltender Martin Brodeur (making his fourth appearance on the Second Team to go with three First Team selections), Boston Bruins defenseman Zdeno Chara (who earned his second career Second Team berth to go with one First Team selection) and Sharks center Joe Thornton (named to the Second Team for the second time to go with one First Team berth).

Voting for the All-Star Team is conducted among representatives of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.
View More