Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Drouin named CHL Player of the Year

by Torie Peterson / Calgary Flames

CALGARY, AB -- NHL Draft prospect Jonathan Drouin was named the 2013 Canadian Hockey League CCM Player of the Year on Saturday, becoming the first player to win the award in his first NHL draft-eligible season since Sidney Crosby did so in 2005 as a member of the Rimouski Oceanic.

The 18 year-old left winger put together an incredible 2012-13 season with the Halifax Mooseheads, scoring 41 goals and 105 points in 49 regular season games. He was just five points behind the league leader despite playing 19 fewer games and his 41 goals were tied for seventh best in the QMJHL. He also put together the league's longest point streak this season, notching 26 goals and 39 assists over the course of 29 games.

In addition to his CHL Player of the Year award, Drouin was named the QMHL's MVP after the conclusion of the league's regular season.

Seth Jones was named the Jack Link's Top Prospect of the Year after compiling 14 goals and 56 points through 61 games with the Portland Winterhawks. The defenceman was part of the Winterhawks top pairing, playing alongside Calgary Flames prospect Tyler Wotherspoon for much of the season.

The BMO Rookie of the Year award went to Baie-Comeau Drakkar forward Valentin Zykov. The Russian scored 40 goals and 75 points in his first season in North American, leading all first-year CHL players. He is the NHL Central Scouting Service's 7th ranked North American skater.

Draft eligible rearguard Josh Morrissey took home the Subway Scholastic Player of the Year award. The Calgary, AB product, who is the NHL Central Scouting Service's 27th ranked North American skater, spent the 2012-13 season with the Prince Albert Raiders, amassing 15 goals and 47 points.


Jack Link’s Top Prospect of the Year: Seth Jones (Portland Winterhawks - draft eligible)

FRAM Sportsman of the Year: Tyler Graovac (Belleville Bulls - Minnesota Wild prospect)

Chrysler Dodge Top Scorer of the Year: Brendan Leipsic (Portland Winterhawks - Nashville Predators prospect) and Nicolas Petan (Portland Winterhawks - draft eligible)

Travelodge Humanitarian of the Year: Ben Fanelli (Kitchener Rangers)

Subway Scholastic Player of the Year: Josh Morrissey (Prince Albert Raiders - draft eligible)

Old Dutch Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year: Dominique Ducharme (Halifax Mooseheads)

BMO Rookie of the Year: Valentin Zykov (Baie-Comeau Drakkar - draft eligible)

Vaughn Goaltender of the Year: Patrik Bartosak (Red Deer Rebels - second year draft eligible)

Post Defenceman of the Year: Ryan Sproul (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds - Detroit Red Wings prospect)

CCM Player of the Year: Jonathan Drouin (Halifax Mooseheads - draft eligible)

View More