Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Conroy nominated for King Clancy

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames
Calgary, AB – The Calgary Flames Hockey Club announced today that Craig Conroy has been nominated for the NHL’s King Clancy Memorial Trophy as voted on by his teammates.

The King Clancy Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and who has made a significant humanitarian contribution to his community.
In order to view this page you need JavaScript and Flash Player 9+ support!

Nominees for the King Clancy are determined by each team’s players who vote on the player they feel has contributed most to their community and off-ice endeavors combined with on-ice leadership.

Craig Conroy is both a participant and a leader at all of the Calgary Flames events, and in addition has become a spokesman for the charitable branch of the hockey club, The Flames Foundation for Life, for the last two seasons. Conroy promotes and raises awareness for the Flames EvenStrength Program, a program which provides financial assistance for underprivileged children wishing to play hockey.

Conroy is always a lively and excitable participant in Calgary Flames community events including; hospital visits, wheelchair hockey, the annual poker tournament and the Flames Charity Golf Tournament. He is often the voice of the Flames, speaking on behalf of his teammates at many of these community initiatives.

Conroy has twice been named as a finalist for the NHL’s Selke Trophy, first in 1998 while with the St. Louis Blues and in 2002 as a member of the Calgary Flames.

This season Conroy was also awarded the Flames Ralph T. Scurfield Humanitarian Award; presented each year to the Flames player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, determination and leadership on the ice, combined with dedication to community service.  Also this season Conroy was nominated for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy by the Calgary chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA). The award recognizes “the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey”.

The Flames lead the league with the most recipients of the King Clancy Memorial Trophy with three players named as past winners; Lanny McDonald (1987-88), Joe Nieuwendyk (1994-95) and Jarome Iginla (2003-04). The trophy will be presented at the annual NHL Awards this year in Las Vegas on June 23, 2010.
View More